Black Panther: World of Wakanda Volume 1

Review: 

Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-) #1 - Ta-Nehisi Coates,Alitha Martinez,Yona Harvey,Afua Richardson,Roxane GayLast year, I got and read the first issue of this short run and reviewed it here. I didn’t know at the time that it would be a short run, but Marvel cancelled it a few months ago, which is disappointing. Along with the groundbreaking nature of the comic, it was a really good story and characters that I wish I could get to know better.

As mentioned in the review of the first issue, I loved the art here. It was appropriate for the type of comic. The women of the Dora Milaje are muscular and gorgeously drawn without be unnecessarily sexualized, but really it’s the muscles. They’re warrior women, they should be super fit and muscular.

Though the story follows a fairly typical work romance type relationship, it’s what surrounds it that I loved the most. There is war happening all around them. Unfortunately, I’m not familiar with what’s supposed to be happening in the Marvel Universe during the timeframe of the comic, so I don’t really know what’s going on there. The point is that the world is bigger than their relationship and there are problems that arise from that. I can appreciate their struggle and what they end up doing about it even more so.

I just wish the storyline could go on and we could see them kick butt in their new roles. I also wish I had time to learn what was up with Zenzi. I suppose I could go back and find a good place to start on Black Panther but I really hate doing that. Part of the fun of the new characters in the last few years for me has been not having to research them in order to read any of the comics. The more established characters have histories that keep popping up and people they’ve crossed and old team ups that get referenced. It drives me crazy, mostly because it can take forever to figure out what a good spot to start in is unless I know someone who has been reading the comics.

So I’ll be as happy as I can with this single volume. Add it to Goodreads or find it available worldwide by clicking on the cover image above.

Leave a Reply

