TTT: Top Ten Books from my first blog

Here’s the topic for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday:

September 12Throwback Freebie: Ten Books I Loved During The First Year I Started My Blog, Favorite Books Published 5 or 10 or 15 Years Ago, Ten Older Books I Forgot How Much I Loved, etc. etc. Tweak however you want!

I decided to do it on books that I reviewed for my first blog, Create Parity. That one was much more about feminism in general and I overscheduled myself and couldn’t hang with it. Maybe I’ll get back to it one day. These are my favorite books about feminism or feminist ideas. I took out all the memories and histories and focused on work currently being done or newer information.

  1. Lean In: Women, Work and the Will to Lead by Sheryl Sandberg 
  2. Jesus Feminist: An Invitation to Revisit the Bible’s View of Women by Sara Bessey
  3. Between XX and XY: Intersexuality and the Myth of Two Sexes by Gerald N. Callahan
  4. Gender Oppression: A Bloke’s Perspective on the Struggled for Gender Equality by Allan-Stuart J. McLeod
  5. Fragments of Gender: Anatomy is not Destiny by Lisa Lees
  6. Delusions of Gender: How Our Minds, Society and Neurosexism Create Difference by Cordelia Fine
  7. Unspeakable Things: Sex, Lies, and Revolution by Laura Penny
  8. Love is an Orientation by Andrew Marin and Brian McLaren
  9. The Unfinished Revolution: Coming of Age in a New Era of Gender, Work and Family by Kathleen Gerson
  10. Junia Is Not Alone by Scot McKnight
  11. Women of the Wall by Phyllis Chesler and Rivka Haut
  12. A God I’d Like To Meet by Bob Edwards
  13. Innovating Women: The Changing Face of Technology by Vivek Wadhwa and Farai Chideya
  14. Out and Equal at Work: From Closet to Corner Office edited by Selisse Berry
  15. Love Between Equals: How Peer Marriage Really Works by Pepper Schwarts, PhD
  16. All the Rebel Women: the Rise of the Fourth Wave of Feminism by Kira Cochrane
  17. Lonely at the Top: The High Cost of Men’s Succes by Thomas Joiner, PhD

 

Yeah, I still couldn’t narrow it down to ten. There is a lot going on about it now and these really broadened my outlook on what feminism entailed or didn’t. Two of these books focus specifically on men and men’s issues and I hadn’t originally realized these were a part of it. I mean, I knew that men get raped too but not that men had an especially high rate of suicide once retiring. I don’t perfectly agree with all of these books, but they helped me learn the most in my earliest feminist leanings.

Don’t forget to go over to the Broke and the Bookish and check out the other Top Ten Tuesday posts!

Leave a Reply

