Reflections on Proverbs

This has proven to be an interesting collection of sayings and advice and wisdom to pass for the Israelites to pass down to their sons. While it may have never been written down, I’m sure there was an equal body of wisdom that parents provided their daughters. I’m a daughter and I know that none of the wisdom my mother has passed to me has been written anywhere, that doesn’t mean it never existed. It fits to be reminded that wisdom isn’t something that can be learned from a book, no matter hard they try to do so. I just wish I could know a little more of that.

Still, almost all the wisdom provided here can be gender bent and would still apply.


Notable Women

There are no named women in the Proverbs but there are a few mentioned here and there. Mostly, the proverbs warn against associating with people who scorn or abuse their mothers and then warns against different forms of temptresses and adulteresses. It concludes with a small proverb of leadership from a mother and then the description of an “excellent wife” that sounds very much like a modern working mother to me.


Chapter links go to the ESV translations at Biblehub.com but I’m reading from the ESV Global Study Bible, which is available for free on the Kindle Reading App.

Leave a Reply

