The Happenings – July 2017

So I’ve gotten back on my feet for a while, though I’m moving again in a few months and will likely go through a lull again. My career is a little topsy turvy lately, but I assure you it’s a problem I’m happy to have. Still, I’m trying to prepare better and work ahead so that there isn’t a lull like the one we had at the beginning of the year, so I won’t be getting through as many books as I used to but I’ll still be posting on a more regular schedule than I was so, maybe it’s a better thing. Maybe. We’ll see.


Currently Reading

Things We Lost in the Fire: Stories - Megan McDowell,Mariana Enríquez The Girl in the Road - Monica Byrne Things We Lost in the Fire is a collection of short stories by Mariana Enriquez and translated by Megan McDowell. I’m about half way through and it’s a lot of fun. Okay, it’s mostly creepy so far but that can be fun too. It’s one of the books I’ll be reviewing for Women in Translation Month in August.

The Girl on the Road by Monica Byrne is fascinating so far. It’s my current audiobook and the world building is incredible. I’m only about a third of the way through, so I’m still figuring out what’s going on but I’m looking forward to finishing it. Due to WIT Month, though, the review won’t be out until September.


Reviewed this month

Fiction

Non-fiction


Reading Challenges

Read Harder 2017

  • The Glass Castle: A Memoir by Jeannette Walls
  • The Woman Warrior: Memoirs of a Girlhood Among Ghosts by Maxine Hong Kingston
  • The Archived by Victoria Schwab
  • Zodiac by Romina Russell

Litsy A to Z

  • Kindred by Octavia E. Butler *Spoilers*
  • Zodiac by Romina Russell

We’re just half way through the year and I’ve started to get paranoid that I won’t finish the challenged in time, but I know it’s just my crazy poking out. I’ve only got 7 left for Read Harder and 10 for Litsy A to Z. I am going to have to substitute my Letter F, though, as I no longer have the book I originally chose available. I’ll be reading Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson instead. I’m much further behind on Nobel Women but I gave up on getting to all of them inside one calendar year a while ago.


Notes

This is the last of the monthly wrap up/happenings posts I’ll be doing for a while. Given the nature of the job I’ve been in school for lately, I don’t think I’ll get a chance to get it done right and out in a good amount of time. I may start it back up when I get to the next thing, but we’ll see what happens. I don’t anticipate that being any time soon, so….. I’ve got lots of other features going now, though, so it shouldn’t be so bad.

I’m still going to do the Top Ten Tuesdays, but the link-ups will be hit or miss. I’ve started Memoir Mondays and have been trying to do better with Femme Fridays. Other than that, the plan is to get at least one post on my progress through the Bible done a week and at least two reviews, three if I get a chance to catch up on some comics any time soon.

Leave a Reply

