Tell Me Something Tuesday: Choosing what to read and review

This is a weekly discussion post hosted by Rainy Day Ramblings where she asks a question about books or reading or blogging for discussion on her blog and optional to do your own post on it. Check out her post here.

Do you find it is easier to read and review books that you have picked up on your own?

Absolutely!!!!

I really can’t do book clubs or reading groups or even buddy reads. It feels like I’m always thwarted by random library hold that drops and sets even my best laid plans at odds. I do much better with challenges that give me the whole year to plan out and read as I feel inclined. Even those have gone through periods where I’m ignoring them before heading back with determination to finish early.

I tried doing a few online books clubs and the effort just implodes. But I do enjoy answering questions and talking about books I’ve already read when a club comes around to that one. I enjoy talking about books enough that I really wish I could do that, but it also makes me feel so stifled and then I will inevitably give up after one or two books that I eventually read on my own anyway.

Perhaps I will get the hang of it one day, but probably not any time soon.

Are there any pointers from the book blog universe for keeping with a book club or reading group? What do you find easier? 

Leave a Reply

