Tell Me Something Tuesday: What are some of your reading habits, good and bad?

This is a weekly discussion post hosted by Rainy Day Ramblings where she asks a question about books or reading or blogging for discussion on her blog and optional to do your own post on it. Check out her post here.

What are some of your reading habits, good and bad?

I’m not sure I’d say any of these habits are good or bad. They’re all good for me! But my husband may disagree on that….

Timing: I seem to get most of my actual reading done as I’m getting ready for work in the morning and in those few minutes before bed. It doesn’t sound like a lot but I spend a lot of the rest of the time I could be reading, writing this blog. Just when I start to feel like my reading is falling behind, I realize that I have finished an ebook at about the same time that I finish listening to an audiobook, so I can’t be doing too bad.

I do get plenty of audiobook time. It’s what I do on the way to and from work, cleaning the house, folding the laundry, putting the dishes away. Any time I’m moving around and it’s not family or work time, I’m listening to an audiobook. Oh, except in the shower. I have tried it a few times but the sound of the shower is always overpowering for my cell phone speaker and using anything else feels like I’m going over board for the few minutes I’ll be in there.

Choices: I have started choosing what books to listen to based on reading challenges and availability. I LOVE reading challenges and do choose the books for those lists based on whatever is most memorable from last year’s finds on the to-read list unless I need to find something that fits a category.

The TBR started to get long and unruly when I found Litsy and the Broke and the Bookish. I still have a lot of books that I want to read not on it but on my Wish List at my library which is also a little long and unruly. It’s only a tenth the size of the Goodreads list, but still. I start to feel like I’ll never get to it all and then it’s the beginning of the month again and I’m picking out a Kindle First anyway.

I have a real problem with Shelf Control also…..

Anyway, these very same reading challenges and Litsy members and fellow bloggers have also broadened my reading into genres I never thought I’d enjoy or finding niche authors that I’d never hear of otherwise. I absolutely love it.

What are your reading habits?

2 thoughts on “Tell Me Something Tuesday: What are some of your reading habits, good and bad?

  1. My one terrible habit is that when I’m reading a book I’m enjoying I’ll ignore everything else around me including stuff that needs to be done around the house and self care like eating, sleeping and exercising!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

