Memoir Monday: Malala Yousafzai

Welcome to my first Memoir Monday!

I’d been debating for a while on something to do to highlight the incredible stories of women that I’ve come across over the years and that has become one of my new favorite genres when it hit me. What you can expect is that I’ll either be reviewing the latest memoir I’ve read or bringing back to the front a memoir of a woman that I’ve read before. No biographies. This about women writing about their lives in their own words. I may occasionally post a TBR too, we’ll see what happens.

As her birthday is on Wednesday, I figured Malala Yousafzai was the perfect person to begin with! She’s going to be twenty and has already been awarded a Nobel Peace Prize and has already been an activist for the education of girls for most of her life.

While most people are familiar with her name and award, it’s worth getting into the details of her story. There have since been many versions of her story put into books (here’s a sampling from Amazon) but this one is in her own words.

I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban - Christina Lamb,Malala Yousafzai

I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up For Education and Was Shot by the Taliban is available in hard copy for delivery worldwide from the Book Depository and on ebook/audiobook from Amazon (or loan at many Overdrive libraries) for download.

I had read and reviewed the book back in December of 2014 when I was writing for my first blog, Create Parity. She had just been awarded the Peace Prize earlier that year. This memoir was published back in 2013 and I imagine that I’m not the only person that’s read this one.

Have you read about Malala’s memoir? What did you think about her story?

Leave a Reply

