The Happenings – June 2017

Here’s a snapshot of what’s been going on this month!


Currently Reading

The Woman Warrior - Maxine Hong KingstonHere is my current ebook on the left and audiobook on the right. Both The Glass Castle - Jeannette Wallsare women’s memoirs, which has turned out to be one of my favorite genres starting to read primarily women. It’s not that women can’t write good fiction, because I read plenty of that too but I had no idea how many books there were out there but the regular lives of women before this.

 


Read this month

Fiction

Nonfiction


Bible Reading

I’ve gotten going again but I expect a lot of starts and stops with this endeavor over the next few years. A part of me wants to quit but it’s been a valuable experience so far to get in and see what it says and get some better context for the things I hear. My husband teases that I’m turning into a Bible scholar but it’ll just help me keep up with him all the better. (His major is currently Religion, so we do quite a bit of comparing notes when we hit upon the same area of the Bible)

Still, it feels good to get back into the swing of things with at least a post a week and forgo the attempts to stick to a monthly book schedule with it. I’m not even sure I’ll be able to stick to the weekly schedule but it seems more doable at this point.


Reading Challenges

Read Harder

  • Bloodchild and other stories by Octavia Butler
  • Dear Zari: The Secret Lives of the Women in Afghanistan by Zarghuna Kargar
  • This Child Will Be Great: Memoir of a Remarkable Life by Africa’s First Woman President by Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
  • A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

Litzy A to Z

  • Dear Zari: The Secret Lives of the Women in Afghanistan by Zarghuna Kargar
  • This Child Will Be Great: Memoir of a Remarkable Life by Africa’s First Woman President by Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
  • Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed

Nobel Women

  • This Child Will Be Great: Memoir of a Remarkable Life by Africa’s First Woman President by Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
Leave a Reply

