The Happenings – May 2017

It’s been a good month for nonfiction, even though I only got through six books this month. The next one should be better!

Okay, I’m not even convincing myself anymore.


Currently Reading

Bloodchild: And Other Stories - Octavia E. Butler

 

I just started listening to this one on Amazon Channels. I’m thinking about changing it over as my Read Harder Task 22, a collection of stories by a woman.

 

By Zarghuna Kargar Dear Zari: Hidden Stories from Women in Afghanistan [Paperback] - Zarghuna Kargar

This one I’ve been reading on Scribd for a little over a week and really appreciate it. Most of the stories are heart-wrenching, but they need to be told.

 


Read this month

Nonfiction


Bible Reading

Yeah, that didn’t really happen this month. I intend to get back to it but I have a backlog of both reviews and time for now. I will finish this, though. Eventually.


Reading Challenges

Read Harder

Task 3: Read a book about books –  Reading Lolita in Tehran: A Memoir in Books by Azar Nafisi

Task 8: Read a travel memoir – The Good Girl’s Guide to Getting Lost: A Memoir of Three Continents, Two Friends, and One Unexpected Adventure by Rachel Friedman

Task 13: Read a nonfictipn book about technology – Rise of the Rocket Girls: The Women Who Propelled Us, from Missiles to the Moon to Mars by Nathalia Holt

Litsy A to Z

  • Becoming Nicole: The Transformation of an American Family by Amy Ellis Nutt
  • Reading Lolita in Tehran: A Memoir in Books by Azar Nafisi

Nobel Women – No progress on this one, unfortunately.


Life and feminism

Overall, things are going great in life but I know the blog has been suffering. I sometimes think it would be easier to let it all go and concentrate entirely on the non-virtual part of my life but then I remember that I don’t have anyone I can just talk about books to, especially the kinds of books I like the most. Time has become strenuous for great reasons and so its not a bad thing that I have less time for my virtual exploits. I’m in a position to make a decent impact on the way women are treated around me and our progress in my profession, which I am excited about!

I think sometimes that I need great stories of women getting things done or going on adventures more then ever now. This has been a great month but I know all the herstories helped my point of view and kept my mindset on track. But still, not a lot of people that would just let me gush about what amazing work women have done over the generations and for that, thank you, readers, for sticking with me.

I’m not sure things are going to get more stable any time soon, but that is part of the majesty of blogging, I don’t actually need to worry about all that. I do hope to be putting up more than just reviews soon though.

Leave a Reply

