The Happenings – April 2017

It seems my reading and blogging pace has slowed down considerably. This is due to the new job I started. I feel a little like I’ve got it together but the new job doesn’t include a lot of computer time, so things are just gonna be what they are. I’m just glad for audiobooks.


Currently Reading

Reading Lolita in Tehran - Azar Nafisi

 

I’ve been reading Reading Lolita in Tehran for a little while now and am absolutely loving it. She mentions several books that I didn’t enjoy and is giving me a new appreciation for them. Her insights into Lolita really helped me enjoy it too. The Elephant and the Dragon: The Rise of India and China and What It Means for All of Us - Robyn Meredith

 

I just started listening to The Elephant and the Dragon but it’s interesting so far. I look forward to learning more about both China and India.

 


Read this month

Fiction

Non-fiction

 


Bible reading

 

I was feeling a little down about not getting through all of the Psalms, or at lease half of them, in April, due to it being National Poetry Month. Also, there is a long way to go still and while they are definitely pretty, I had a new idea while I was writing this post on how to handle them.

Every April, until I get through Psalms or the entire project, will be Psalms and I’ll pick up where I left off. This lets me not feel stuck in Psalms while allowing me to get through them all at a better pace at another time.

I know, it even sounds to me like I’m going to skip them and never go back, but I will. Promise.


Reading Challenges

Read Harder 2017 – None. Reading Lolita in Tehran is part of this challenge and Litsy but I haven’t finished it in time to count it.

Litsy A to Z

  • Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

Reading Nobel Women

  • The Telomere Effect: A Revolutionary Approach to Living Younger, Healthier, Longer by Dr. Elizabeth Blackburn and Dr. Elissa Epel

Not my best month nor my best showing Reading Challenges. I am actually starting to worry a little that I won’t get to them all by the end of the year. I get into an anxiety spiral every time I think about it, but I just need to take a breath and I’m sure I’ll be fine. Why wouldn’t I be fine?


Life and feminism

I love my new job but the complete lack of computer time coupled with the complete lack of free computer time have combined to make it much harder to keep up with blogging things, like tags that I’ve been invited to do and Top Ten Tuesday. I’ll probably just be reading and reviewing for a little while and trying my hardest to get to my Bible posts. It was looking good for a little while and I’ll probably continue to have bursts of energy followed quickly by  realizing that I am grossly behind on one reading challenge or another. I’ve even fallen off the map and almost all social media.

Last time I ran into this bit of a pickle, I stopped the blog that I was working on at the time only to create this one when I could no longer stand not having an outlet to talk about how I feel about books, particularly books and feminism. This time, I feel like I’ve learned from that mistake and just need to unplug a little.

I will be doing my reading challenges, trying my best to keep with Kindle First, getting through this initial read and blog of the entire Christian Bible, and posting reviews/recommendations of books that I finish. I may seem to disappear altogether at times but I’ll be around, checking in. That is, unfortunately, the best I can promise. I hope to be getting back into a better rhythm in the future.

Also, none of this is a super bad thing on account of the fact that my virtual life is taking a hit only because my physical life has some pretty awesome things going on. The new job is fantastic and so are almost all the people I work with. The move to Connecticut from Maryland has been restoring to my soul. It is devastatingly beautiful here and so much more to do than I ever realized. My son is at that perfect age to take him to museum after museum and he just sees and loves everything, especially living around Mystic where there is so much history. On the one hand, it’s unfortunate that we’ll only be here a year, but on the other hand, we’ll miss the worst of the winter next year if all goes according to plan and be near Florida (which is my real home that I miss desperately all the time) and warm all the time again. Not a winter problem.

 

Leave a Reply

