Psalm 23: The LORD Is My Shepherd

A Psalm of David, so perhaps written by him or about him or maybe to a certain tune that he came up with. It’s also one of the most popularly quoted and references psalms in the US, I think. It’s the only one I’d ever heard of before doing this long study of the Bible.


Psalm 23

1The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
2He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.a
3He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousnessb
for his name’s sake.

4Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,c
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

5You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
6Surelyd goodness and mercye shall follow me
all the days of my life,
and I shall dwellf in the house of the LORD
forever.g

There’s really no wonder in why this one is as popular as it is. It’s a great sentiment. Why wouldn’t anyone want to feel this way about whatever deity they follow or believe in? There’s so much assurance and trust and comfort here. There’s being led to good places and trusting that we could follow and though it won’t necessarily be easy, we won’t be alone or abandoned anywhere along the way. We’ll be taken care of and the right way will always appear and be doable.

I’d also like a little more goodness and mercy to follow me. I don’t think there’s enough goodness and mercy going around this world, not sure there could ever be “enough” of that sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

