Psalm 15: Who Shall Dwell on Your Holy Hill?

This is another psalm attributed to David.


Psalm 15

1O LORD, who shall sojourn in your tent?
Who shall dwell on your holy hill?

2He who walks blamelessly and does what is right
and speaks truth in his heart;
3who does not slander with his tongue
and does no evil to his neighbor,
nor takes up a reproach against his friend;
4in whose eyes a vile person is despised,
but who honors those who fear the LORD;
who swears to his own hurt and does not change;
5who does not put out his money at interest
and does not take a bribe against the innocent.
He who does these things shall never be moved.

Surprisingly, I really like the sentiment of this one. It’s a bit of a checklist, but there are so many things on it that it makes me feel like there are some things I’m already good at and some that I can do right away and others that I can “plan” to get to without ever really wanting to. I also expected to feel like it was judgey once I realized there was a checklist, but I didn’t end up feeling that way. The psalm concentrates on the person who can be on the “holy hill” and doesn’t turn it around and blame others, so it just didn’t leave me with that judgey feeling.

The end felt a little sudden, though. I know it’s short and so I expect it to not get into a lot of detail, but the end of the psalm didn’t circle back around to the original point of the original question. I feel like another line or two could have made it feel really complete.

Leave a Reply

