Psalm 13: How Long, O LORD?

This is another psalm of David, one of the shorter ones at that.


Psalm 13

1How long, O LORD? Will you forget me forever?
How long will you hide your face from me?
2How long must I take counsel in my soul
and have sorrow in my heart all the day?
How long shall my enemy be exalted over me?

3Consider and answer me, O LORD my God;
light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death,
4lest my enemy say, “I have prevailed over him,”
lest my foes rejoice because I am shaken.

5But I have trusted in your steadfast love;
my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.
6I will sing to the LORD,
because he has dealt bountifully with me.

This is another psalm that where the writer has doubts and fears but exhibits faith in that God will be there for them. It’s not always in the way we think or expect and there have been times in my own life that I don’t think I’ll ever understand that feeling that God abandoned me when I needed Him, but it’s good to see such moments of pure faith modeled in the Old Testament. We forget sometimes that other generations have struggled with many of our same questions about God and His plans and His involvement, or lack there of, in our lives.

The writer clearly feels abandoned but affirms his faith after having put words to his feelings. Sometimes that’s all we need, to admit that we feel a certain way in order to let it go and to let ourselves get back to a more productive state of mind. Yet another interesting psalm that is far too relatable to today’s world.

 

Leave a Reply

