The Happenings – March 2017

Another good reading month but not so good blogging month but the move is almost over. It’s technically over entirely, but there are still rooms with moving mess and I won’t call it done until those messes are clean, so maybe I’ll never be fully moved in. I am back to work now and getting time to blog is significantly harder at this job than the last one. Like almost impossible, but I’m making due with reviews where I can and maybe I’ll find a good groove again. Until then, I appreciate everyone who has been sticking around!


Currently Reading

Just Listen - Sarah DessenJust Listen is my current audiobook. It’s my Letter J for Litsy A to Z and I’m enjoying it so far.

The Marvelous Misadventures of Ingrid Winter (The Ingrid Winter Misadventure Series) by [Drangsholt, J.S.]

Then there’s The Marvelous Misadventures of Ingrid Winter which is one of my Kindle First books. It was my choice for February but I was a little behind at the time. It’s a fairly light read and has turned out to be a great palate cleaner after all the serious books I had recently finished. So far the mishaps in Ingrid’s life are predictable but strangely satisfying to read despite that. It’s almost more fun because you know what’s about to happen and have time to get the popcorn, if you know what I mean.


Read this month

Fiction

Non-fiction

Comics

Poetry


Bible Project

So I haven’t quite been working on this one this month. I’m desperately behind on everything except for actually reading, though I’ve felt behind on that too for some reason. I’m going to try to do better in the future but there’s no way to tell how much that’ll actually turn out for me.


Reading Challenges

Read Harder 2017

Litsy A to Z

  • Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race by Margot Lee Shetterly
  • Map: Collected and Last Poems by Wisława Szymborska, translated by Clare Cavanagh and Stanisław Barańczak

Reading Nobel Women

  • Map: Collected and Last Poems by Wisława Szymborska, translated by Clare Cavanagh and Stanisław Barańczak

I didn’t do so well on challenges this month, but I’ve been trying to clean up my shelves before getting really into it again.


Life and Feminism

So I wrote a little on the move and starting work again in the intro, and nothing particularly feminist has been going on in life. This isn’t a politically active area and the guys I work with now are considerably less conservative than the ones I was around before so I don’t cringe near as much when I overhear or are part of conversations. It’s actually a much more enjoyable job with much more relaxed and funny people. I have high hopes the next year while I am here.

I am part of a program that’s making strides to introduce women into new areas of my work, so I feel like that’s about all the feminism I can be a part of for the moment. It feels so lazy to me because there is so much going on, but no one can do all of it and I find myself having little internal pep talks that just working where I am is plenty and it’s paving the way, pushing that glass ceiling toward it’s breaking point, and all that.

I did do a fundraiser for the Malala Fund on International Women’s Day. I wish I could say it went better, but I only raised $75. I’m not closing it until the 8th, so if you’d like to donate, it’s not too late! Click here to go to the fundraising page. I’d appreciate any small amount added to it, even just a dollar if you can spare it!

I hope everyone had a nice month and I’m crossing my fingers for warmer weather!

Leave a Reply

