How are you celebrating International Women’s Day?

Happy International Women’s Day!!

There are lots of things going on in the world to celebrate this year, the day without a woman strike in the US among them, but my situation isn’t one that would cause in impact there. I am also no longer in an area that participates much in politics and haven’t really found a local place to participate in yet so I had to think a little differently.

My celebration for the year is going to be setting up a fundraiser for the Malala Fund!

I believe in the power of a 12 years of education for all. It’s easy to see what the impact of an education is on any individual person, but I’ve also read a bit about how it effects communities when more people within them are getting the education that we take for granted here in the US. I read the book I Am Malala a few years ago and loved it and am excited about this opportunity to help her fund education and raise awareness on the importance of educating girls as much as boys.

Check out my fundraiser page and please give a little to help to create a world where all women have been educated!!

(yes, I want all men to have received an education and maybe we’ll talk fundraisers for organizations that build schools in places that still need them on the next go if this does okay.)

Before I go, I’d also like to send a shout out to the servicewomen (and those of similar travel dependent jobs) out there and their families, who regularly know what its like for the woman of the house to not be available for care work or any of the other unpaid work that women are normally depended on for at home. 

What are your plans to celebrate International Women’s Day? 

Leave a Reply

