The Happenings – February 2017

I did a lot more reading than reviewing this month. I’ve been moving and while it lends plenty of time for listening to audiobooks while cleaning, there isn’t a lot of time for blogging. I even had a few mishaps where a post went up that wasn’t finished and lots of posts getting pushed back. Things should go back to normal sometime this month, but we’ll see. It may not be until April.


Currently Reading

Map: Collected and Last Poems – Wisława Szymborska,Clare Cavanagh,Stanisław Barańczak – I’ve been working on this one a while and am so close to finishing!

The Girl Who Drank the Moon – Kelly Barnhill – my current audiobook and loving it!

Girl Rising: Changing the World One Girl at a Time – Tanya Lee Stone – a compelling book that goes into greater detail on the girls from the documentary of a the same name and the way that situation is plays out for many others.


Read  this month

Fiction

Comics

Non-fiction


Bible Commentary

I tried to stay on track for this month by finishing up Job in a timely manner, but ended up a touch behind. I still hope to get the final postfix it up this week, but no garauntees. It further puts me back for what will already be a heavy month because next up are the Psalms. There was a time when I may have glossed over many of them while not really understanding what was going on but my theology student husband had a class last semester that was about only the Psalms and learned a lot about how they work. I’ll probably end up doing one at a time and trying to give a little context to each, but not go too in depth. Remember, this is my own reading to take a look at the treatment of women throughout the Bible, given its reputation. Hopefully that means we can get through it well.


Reading Challenges

Litsy A to Z

  • Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng
  • The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri

Read Harder 2017

  • The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri

Reading Nobel Women

I am changing up one of my Read Harder books for this year. When I made the list, I assumed that  I would be living in Maryland, right between Baltimore and D.C. the whole time but that is no longer the truth. I’m not even going to be there for most of the year. I have just moved and will spend the remainder of the year in Connecticut, the New London area, and feel like I should revise my choice for Task 10: Read a book that is set within 100 miles of your location. I will be replacing my original choice with The Handmaid’s Tale which has been on my TBR for a while anyway.


Life and Feminism

Life is pretty complicated this month and so I didn’t have the time to devote to feminism that I would prefer. I know a lot is going on but I can’t even process it all. I do try to keep a handle on the goings-on what with the global gag rule back in effect and all the things people have been saying about the Muslim Ban. When I do get into those things, I have a tendency to do those posts on Litsy (@storedfeminism) and save the blog for the longer recommendations and reviews and more in depth commentary.

Again, life has been a little on the crazy side. I was notified last month of the need for me to move after getting accepted into a program I had applied for. This month, the move was upon us! We are over the moon excited between the opportunity to get into the program and leaving Maryland. I know it’s full of people who love it, but we are not among that group. We have had the worst time there and it is way too crowded for us. The new program puts me in Connecticut for a while, near New London, and then back in Florida after about a year. That said, the slowdown is only temporary and I hope to have everything settled from the move and back to my blogging schedule by the end of March.

I had just hit my best month ever in January and then could barely devote time to it all this month, so it produced less than satisfactory results as might be expected. I also fell horribly behind on the other bloggers I enjoy reading, and for that I apologize. I hope to catch up soon. Hopefully next month will be better and on to normal after that!

Leave a Reply

