TTT: Top Ten Favorite Romances

This week’s topic is : All About Romance Freebie

I decided to do my top two in five different categories because choosing just one category was not going to work out for me. So here they are by category:

Favorite Love triangles 

I have a tendency to hate a love triangle, particularly in YA. It’s really that they feel so reliably there, so much so that it can be a selling point to know that there isn’t one in a book sometimes. Still, there are some great exceptions.

The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins: While there is a prominent love triangle, I loved how they didn’t really fight over her. There was more going on in their worlds than being in love and they acted like it. They didn’t just care about being the one to own Katniss, they cared enough to care about how she would feel if either were to perish. The fought for and protected each other too and they rarely got petty.

Shatter Me Series – Tahereh Mafi: Okay, there really is all kinds of pettiness here but go with me for a minute. So much of the plot was carried by the social ineptitude of the main characters that their level of petty and insane emotional outbursts felt appropriate. The background for all three of the main characters made it so that they just never learned or practiced these kinds of social interactions at a more appropriate time and it all exploded together with the plot. It made for lots of juicy drama that you could just lean into was fun.

 

Favorite Lovers in trouble

To be more specific, this isn’t about relationship trouble, the people involved know how they feel about each other without doubt. They just have some outside matters to attend to that stand in the way of their happily ever after.

First Kisses and Other Misfortunes – Kimberly Karalius: This is a little novella that sits between two novels of a series. I’ll be honest, I haven’t read the series that it’s a part of but this story is so cute, and sweet enough to give me a tooth ache.

The God of Small Things – Arundhati Roy: In stark contrast to the first one, there’s this. The story doesn’t revolve around the lovers in this case, but the way the trouble plays out is linked to their relationship. As mentioned in the synopsis, the story is about the love laws and who should be loved and how and how much.

Favorite Missed Chances 

Sometimes a romance plays out so that the trouble is getting together, and sometimes it’s about staying together and sometimes it’s about getting to stay together. These two books have a love stories that revolve around whether or not our lovers will get to be together more than whether or not they love each other.

Girl in Translation – Jean Kwok

Persuasion – Jane Austen

 

Favorite Slow Burn

I’ve never been a big fan of insta-love. I mean, it works in a Disney movie sometimes but it’s not my favorite trope and a long, slow burn is kind of the best.

The Darkest Part of the Forest – Holly Black: I just can’t even get into it without getting all swoony. The way she writes it is just swoon worthy.

Each of the Lunar Chronicles love stories but if I had to pick just one couple, it would be Cinder and Kai. Scarlet and Wolf break my heart but their initial love story gets a little iffy there for a minute with whether or not he’s actually be a good guy which doesn’t make me not like the story, but definitely lets Cinder and Kai surpass them. Cress and Thorne are sweet when they think no one else is around and I just love their little uncertainties, but not quite more than Cinder and Kai. Winter and Jacin probably belong more in the Missed Chances category than this one.

Favorite LGBT love story

I don’t come upon LGBT love stories very often, but I have read enough now to have a few favorites. I do have some in my TBR that I look forward to reading, especially Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan.

The Darkest Part of the Forest – Holly Black: Yeah, this book appears further up the list but it also has this in here too. The book features siblings, a straight girl and a gay boy. Her love story was the slow burn that I loved and but the boy’s is my favorite LGBT love story. It’s kind of a slow burn but not not the same, it doesn’t really fit any of the rest of the categories.

Terracotta Bride – Zen Cho: For this one, it was the twists and turns the story took in such a short time that got me, the lack of simply having a couple totally did me in with this one. There’s a bit of a love triangle aspect, but not that really competed.

Be sure to check out the Broke and Bookish for the rest of the lists for this week!

5 thoughts on “TTT: Top Ten Favorite Romances

  1. I am not a fan of love Triangle because I get very upset if the girl doesn’t end up with my guy! hahaha
    With Shatter Me I was more than happy! I always loved Warner!

    check our TTT and there is a link on top to a giveaway.
    My TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

