TTT: Top Ten Books/Comics I Wish Had Fandoms

This week’s topic from the Broke and Bookish: Top Ten Books I Wish Had (More/Less) X In Them (the original idea came from Andi who suggested top ten books I wish had more kissing which I thought could be fun but also realize it might not be everyone’s thing! Could also be top ten books I wish had more diversity in them or top ten books I wish had less violence in them or less romance focus in them or top ten books I wish had more dragons in them. IDK! Have some fun with this one!)

It’s not quite in keeping with the topic but not really veering off either. It’s kind of like Top Ten Books I Wish Had More Fans, but not really. See, the Lunar Chronicles has a starter fandom. I feel like a movie would make a full blown fandom, but so does everything Jane Austen have a fandom, but these don’t. I know that I should do books that I wish had more diversity or more women, but not only would that be a little too on the nose for this topic but I tend to read diversely for a while now so I’d have to go further back in my reading then I can reliably remember details about. Plus, this is going to be more fun and a list actually has diversity in it.

They’re broken into starter fandoms, subfandoms and no fandoms.

No fandoms: 

Shatter Me Complete Collection: Shatter Me, Destroy Me, Unravel Me, Fracture Me, Ignite Me - Tahereh MafiI know, but I can’t help it. There are all kinds of things wrong with it romance wise, but I loved it. I loved it like a Twihard with no rhyme or reason, I just did. It’s not the love story, though, or that there was a love triangle because both of those things drove me nuts. I was taken in by the beautiful and poetic, though completely insane way that Juliette processed things in the first book. I know how much people tend to hate this sort of thing in lots of books and it is akin to the Fifty Shades internal goddess sometimes, but she was having actually mental trauma based on her isolation and so it was completely in keeping with the story for her thought processes to not sound like the way a normal person thinks. I am also continuous intrigued by the concept of an empath who knows how much people hate him. You always think of empath’s like in Charmed  where they are loved and even though they feel the pain of others, they can assuage it for little happy endings. But this was different and I wish I had more people to geek out on it with me. (my review)

Finishing School Series (4 Book Series) - Gail Carriger

Steampunk, badass, all-girl assassin schoo in the Victorian era plus all manner of supernatural creature. Really, what’s not to love and cosplay? I mean, cosplay for this fandom would be gorgeously amazing and I’ve wanted a fan with little knives in it since the first time it was mentioned in this series. Can’t I just have the merchandising show up at the next geek convention I go to? Now that I think about it, maybe they do have some at a steampunk convention, I’ve never been to one of those.

Monstress #1 - Sana Takeda,Marjorie M. LiuCan’t you just see an Inquisitrix costume at a ComicCon?

I would pass out. They are terrifying and ridiculously sexy, but somehow not entirely made just for the male gaze. It’s complicated. If you’ve read it, you know what I mean. If you haven’t, go read it. In addition to the Inquisitrixes there are countless arcanic cosplay options out there. I just think a Monstress convention would be so awesome to attend and see all the people. That’s my favorite part about conventions, just walking the halls and staring at cosplay.

Lumberjanes #9 - Shannon Waters,Emily CarrollI love these girls and I’m sure that there will be all kinds of little memes and cuteness to pop up about them as the number of fans grow and kids who identify with these girls grow too. Not that it wouldn’t be fun to see what grown ups love about the series, but this is an all-ages comic and I hope that it turns into someone’s Harry Potter, if you know what I mean.

If not, can we have a Lumberjanes Camp somewhere? Please????

Princeless Book One: Save Yourself - Jung-Ha Kim,Jeremy Whitley,M. Goodwin,Dave Dwonch

It took me a while to read this one too, and I do love that it’s already sprouting off shoots and spin offs. The feminist ideas in this and the spins offs (from what I hear of the spin offs, I haven’t read one yet) are just spot on.

It’s actually really hard to believe that this isn’t written by a woman because the writer clearly gets it so well. I could stand to some Princess Adrienne in her armor at a convention of any sort at all, let alone any of the other characters.

An Ember in the Ashes - Sabaa TahirMostly, I just want the merchandising from this one. Don’t get me wrong, I would love to see what a real Mask looks like, but I’m sure I would be terrified. I feel like this one is insanely popular and I seriously hope for a movie in the future.

I’m sure it will get a real fandom after that, but it may not even take that much. I know lots of people who love it and the mask cosplay would probably be spectacular. (my review)

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making - Ana Juan,Catherynne M. ValenteI get that this one doesn’t quite fit the fandom mold. It doesn’t have potential for cosplay and therefore conventions. It doesn’t have the potential for merchandise much either. But it does have the potential for a movie and then all the quotes and coffee mugs and knick knacks that come with that kind of fame. It’s kind of like merchandise but not the same.

Still, it would be great for it to get that little push so more kids could be exposed to it because I had as much fun reading this as watching the Wizard of Oz the first time. I still need to read the other books too. (my review)

Comics that are already part of a fandom but could use some attention within it:  By subfandom, I mean Captain America has a fandom all on his own within Marvel. He’s a favorite character for enough people that I almost always see pieces of cosplay at conventions and almost every booth that does art based on established characters has something of him. That said, these are just some characters that I wish had a subfandom within the immense Marvel fandom:

Invincible Iron Man (2016-) #1Spider-Woman: Shifting Gears Vol. 1: Baby Talk - Dennis Hopeless,Javier Rodriguez  Silk Vol. 1: Now and Then - Marvel ComicsMockingbird Vol. 1: I Can Explain - Kate Niemczyk,Chelsea CainMs. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed - G. Willow Wilson,Adrian Alphona

There are two  that have starter fandoms because they have little inclinings that are fandoms but not quite full blown, I see it everywhere their genre is mentioned fandom, you know what I mean?

Cinder - Marissa Meyer

Come on, she has a litograph! Seriously, I adore the litographs. Check them out here. I also see stuff about this series on Pinterest all the time. There are dream casts and little drawn scenes as if they were comics and art based on the book. These are all the makings of a tiny fandom, which is great because this series is among my absolute favorites and I have now convinced both my father and my husband to read them and I gush every chance I get. I can’t wait for it to blow up like Firefly.

Bitch Planet Volume 1 - Kelly Sue DeConnick,Robert Wilson IV,Valentine De LandroI mean, did you see all the non-compliant women at the Women’s March? There were quite a few pictures that I saw with the NC stencil that marks the non-compliant woman who is destined for Bitch Planet.

This series is so creepy in all the way it makes such an amazing statement. It’s definitely a story for its time and will be a kind of 1984 for us. I still have to catch up, as I’ve only read the initial volume, but it really made me want to be even less compliant with the ridiculous standards that we do share with their world. Definite starter fandom, but I could stand to see a lot more love from people on this particular series.

So that’s my top ten(ish) books/comics that I wish had a lot more fandom action. It’s an ish because I lumped all the Marvel subfandoms together, but they are together. They could just stand out more too. Check out the Broke and the Bookish to see what other people wish for some books to have more/less of.

7 thoughts on “TTT: Top Ten Books/Comics I Wish Had Fandoms

  1. Ooh, this is a great topic and list! It always makes me sad to see great books without a very evident fandom. Especially since small (or nonexistent) fandoms often translated to little to no merch. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

