The Happenings – January 2017

I had a good start to the year, reading a lot more books than I thought I would get to. Well, I didn’t read my intended TBR exactly because library holds got in the way of my shelf control but shelf control is the renewed plan for February!


Currently Reading

The Original Dream by [Amal, Nukila]

I am attempting shelf control with this book. It was my December Kindle First book and I did catch up on all the other but the Burger’s Daughter came in and I detoured and am just now getting back  to it.

It’s a strange book so far but I’m enjoying it. For more information on the book itself:  The Original Dream – Nukila Amal,Linda OwensThe Thing Around Your Neck - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

 

I’ve been meaning to read Adichie for a while and just got this one in audiobook from my library. Started it today and already loving it!

 


Read this month (or reviewed)

Fiction

Non-fiction

Poetry

Comics


Bible Reading

I managed to get through Ezra and Nehemiah  since they are short books and almost catch up to my original goal of having read a book a month and finish in 66 months. Nah, that’s not going to happen, I still have Job to fall behind during and then 150 psalms. Seriously, there’s 150.

I’m part way through Esther now. I had originally planned to have hers done in one post like the other two but her book has way too much woman stuff for that to have worked out.


Reading Challenges

Litsy A to Z –

  • All the Single Ladies: Unmarried Women and the Rise of an Independent Nation by Rebecca Traister
  • Sister Outsider: Essays and Speeches by Audre Lorde
  • You Can’t Touch My Hair: And Other Things I Still Have to Explain by Phoebe Robinson

Read Harder –

  • The God of Small Things  by Arundhati Roy  — Task 2: Read a debut novel
  • Invincible Iron Man #1 (Introduction to Ironheart) — Task 18: Read a superhero comic with a female lead
  • Madwomen by Gabriela Mistral — Task 23: Read a collection of poetry in translation on a theme other than love
  • Ashley’s War: The Untold Story of a Team of Women Soldiers on the Special Ops Battlefield

    by Gayle Tzemach Lemmon — Task 14: Read a book about war

Reading Nobel Women –

  • Burger’s Daughter by Nadine Gordimer
  • Madwomen by Gabriela Mistral

I had to change my “A” for Litsy A to Z because my original choice was in a format that I just couldn’t get and I’ve wanted to read All the Single Ladies since I first heard of it too. I’ll get around to my original choice, I’m sure, but I’ll have to figure out another way.


Life and Feminism

As far as the rest of life has been going, things are good and bad. I mean, as a US citizen and child of refugee, it’s hard to say good in the scheme of what’s going on in this country. I’m not a fan of the ban, despite the national security reasons. Between Litsy and WordPress and Twitter, I know I’m not alone in that. But then other things have been happening in the face of the crazy that has been uplifting.

For starters, the Women’s March was amazing. I didn’t get close to the stage and ended up staying on the fringes of everything for sanity’s sake, but I went and it was awesome. I dragged my six year old, so I had a relatively low threshold for the amount of time I could stay because he turns into a pumpkin after a little while and I’m not into torturing my child. We went, we saw, we left in enough time for him to not have a total meltdown. It is what it is.

I also saw a whole bunch of crazy about it after the fact and, sure, I’m no bigger a fan of vaginas on display than I am of the phallus variety. I haven’t watched the videos of all the speeches but I heard that some were violent or just not what I would go with. There’s the exclusion of the pro-life feminists and the denial that there could even be such a thing. But of course people want to surround something as awesome as the Women’s March with so much negativity. We wouldn’t want to encourage more behavior like this from our women! I mean, then they may not come out of their parties to show off their beauty and submissiveness at our requ – oh, am I confusing recent events with the biblical account of the queen of Persia being ousted by her king?

I am. My bad. It was coincidental that I came across that chapter at the same time that the country is having issues with our women getting out of hand and demanding our equal treatment, loudly, though not violently. If the women’s march women aren’t put back in their place than all women everywhere might begin to think they can –

I did it again. Check out the first chapter of Esther and it will make your blood boil. Will we ever get away from these issues with the larger society? One can only hope.

I saw some signs that weren’t my taste, but plenty that were awesome. There were also several bookish signs shared on Litsy and in the blogosphere in the days that followed the march. I especially loved the Non-Complaint NC written on things that the author of Bitch Planet was sharing on her Twitter feed following the march.

In other news on my life, I joined two book clubs, one that was started from Litsy and one that was started by a blogger I follow on, like, everything. Both use Slack.com to host their discussions, which is a wonderful site I had never heard of before. Litsy’s Social Justice Book Club is one of these groups. This month’s book was Hope in the Dark, full review linked above. There was some good discussion on the book but my favorite thing to come of it so far was the Congress app that let’s you track who votes for what and read through the log in both houses. I’m figuring it out still, but it’s very cool. There is also the DiversityStudyGroup that is put on by Bina at WOCreads. This is a new one and I’m hoping to catch their reading but making no promises right now.

These are issues that are integral to feminism (because done right, feminism must be intersectional and appeal to all women not just white women) and I know I need to be better versed in them, plus they revolve around books! I do love feminism in all its iterations, but books are among my favorite things and an important part of our lives that bleeds into everything else, right?

I do think sometimes about joining a feminist reading group or book club, but it feels a little too on the nose and now I have these to keep up with. Honestly, I hope to not implode as I’m starting a new round of work training in the near future and won’t have near as much time to blog or read, let alone keep up with groups and clubs. We’ll see how I manage, I guess.

How was your month???

Leave a Reply

