FF – Women Leaders

Happy Friday! So, yes, there’s a part of me that wants to ignore what’s happening in my country today, but I am still hopeful for the future. I know the general theory of what will happen but I also remember Doomsdayers of the last two administrations, so I don’t really know how to feel about it. I know that it’s a luxury for me to even be able to ambiguous about it, but I can’t let myself get into despair. I can join the ranks tomorrow in DC and I can speak up and I can act out my own everyday rebellions. It’s what I have, and I have to say that though I am not one who is likely to advance the cause of any of the groups that intersect with feminism, I have a few irons in the fire toward progress. Just because we aren’t moving in one area doesn’t mean we aren’t making gains in others.

I’ve posted on Femme Friday before about American Women in Politics and the US Women’s Equality Day, giving book lists that were mostly identical and a few TBRs. We may still not be among the countries with a woman in charge but there is actually quite a long list of women who have been heads of state and/or government and they deserve attention. Here is the Wikipedia list: List of Elected and/or Appointed Female Heads of State or Government

I think once I’ve read all the Women Nobel Laureates this year (or as long as it takes, whichever), I’ll have to read the women heads of state and heads of government and female monarchs. The Wikipedia page does make a distinction between those three titles. Rather than do a huge list of the biographies, autobiographies, and memoirs, I’m just going to list a few women who run their countries in either capacity.

For starters, a few are also Nobel Laureates such as Aung San Suu Kyi and Ellen Johnson Sirleaf. Here are their books:

Freedom from Fear - Desmond M. Tutu,Michael Aris,Aung San Suu Kyi,Václav Havel,Desmond TutuThis Child Will Be Great: Memoir of a Remarkable Life by Africa's First Woman President - Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

Here are some books from other incumbents (not all have something written about them or in hasn’t been translated into English which is the only way I can read it)

The Exercise of My Despair: Park Geun-Hye Autobiography - Geun-Hye ParkMichelle Bachelet - Richard Worth,Arthur M. Schlesinger Jr.Chemistry for Sustainable Development in Africa - Ameenah Gurib-Fakim,Jacobus Nicolaas EloffThe Lisbon Treaty: A Legal and Political Analysis - Jean-Claude Piris,Angela Merkel

Living in Tears by Sheikh Hasina, who is the Prime Minister of Bangladesh and Theresa May: The Downing Street Revolution which is about the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom didn’t have usable covers on BookLikes. I like using that website for the covers.

So most of the women who are in charge of their countries in one capacity or the other (other than monarchs) didn’t have memoirs or biographies written about them or by them, but these are some exceptions. Okay, some did in their own language which is completely understandable but doesn’t help me out. Interestingly, most of these are also not memoirs but political writings they’ve done.

We can’t give up in the US. The woman who will be our first president is out there somewhere. Plenty of glass has been shattered and there isn’t much left. We’ll get through those last few barriers. In the mean time, we can do what we can and we can look for her, that woman who will break the highest of US ceilings. There are two layers left, President and Vice President, but that’s it, and I am sure that I’ll see it in my lifetime.

Leave a Reply

