TTT: Top Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem Books I’ve Read

Okay, Okay, the whole thing is: Top Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem Books I’ve Read In The Past Year Or So (up to you if you want it to be those published in the past year or so or just ANY underrated book you’ve read recently). It just looked too full in the title block. Fortunately, I LOVE underrated books and kept what had been decided as the mark of an underrated book from the last theme like this, which was any book with under 2000 ratings on Goodreads, but I promise no overlap (this old list was coincidentally all pre-2016 books): Top Ten Books I Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings on Goodreads.

So what did I read last year that was underrated and awesome? Here they are:

The Girl Who Wrote Loneliness: A Novel - Shin Kyung-sook,Jung Ha-Yun

The story was pretty good but the writing was amazing. I really need to read more of this author. It was one of the two books that really made me a believer in reading translation during WIT month last year.

This Place Holds No Fear - Anne Posten,Monika Held

This was the other translation that made me a believer. I’ve gushed about this one plenty of times on this blog. It’s alternate point of view on what makes a hero or monster just hits me all the time and the way it deals with PTSD from Auschwitz is masterful. I don’t have a frame of reference for that specific kind of PTSD but I’m familiar with PTSD in my personal life and it rings really true here and then is written beautifully.

Freedom from Fear - Desmond M. Tutu,Michael Aris,Aung San Suu Kyi,Václav Havel,Desmond Tutu

A Nobel Peace Laureates essays on the struggle for democracy in her country…. How could it not be completely amazing? There’s just SO MUCH HERE and it makes me look at our democracy and the problems that people say the founders had in creating it in a whole different way.

Rad American Women A-Z: Rebels, Trailblazers, and Visionaries who Shaped Our History . . . and Our Future! - Kate Schatz,Miriam Klein Stahl

This was short and to the point and made for kids so that they can learn about some women in this country that changed it. I loved the whole book but the last few pages were especially wonderful.

The Birth of the Pill: How Four Crusaders Reinvented Sex and Launched a Revolution - Jonathan Eig

I will never take my birth control for granted EVER AGAIN. This is an interesting story to how the pill came to be, but my big take away was to be grateful every day that I really could control the size of my family.

No Time for Tears

I do love stories about all the hidden background work that went into creating one amazing moment. This book is a fictionalized story of a family and everything they went through and were a part of in the effort to create a new Israel.

 The Tale of Yin

A set of novellas that combine for a cohesive science fiction story. There are some great social justice issues at play here but also some social issues that are still problems for us but that this planet had already worked past. The writing threw me at first but the story is really remarkable.

 Girls Think of Everything: Stories of Ingenious Inventions by Women - Catherine Thimmesh,Melissa Sweet

Again with the amazing real ladies! Women inventors and the things they’ve invented!

Shatter Me Series Box Set: Shatter Me, Unravel Me, Ignite Me - Tahereh Mafi

I don’t know if you can really tell from the tiny picture but it’s the boxed set of Shatter Me, which I totally loved. I know, I know, there is debate about whether this was a healthy or unhealthy relationship in this story. I was absolutely enthralled by this story the entire time I was reading it and then had a horrid book hangover. It was the writing that really caused the hangover. She’s isolated in the beginning with just some books to keep her company and she basically things in poetry which was so amazing but this progressively normalizes as she’s around people again. It’s all very interesting and I loved it but I get the relationships were on thin ice with all the messed up stuff going on in the story and the ways the men treat Juliette are not the most supporting or feminist or anything.

Gotham Academy Vol. 1 - Brendan Fletcher,Karl Kerschel,Becky CloonanThor Volume 1: Goddess of Thunder - Russell Dauterman,Jason Aaron  Lumberjanes Vol. 5: Band Together -  Noelle Stevenson,Shannon Watters,Grace Ellis,Brooke Allen  Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-) #1 - Ta-Nehisi Coates,Alitha Martinez,Yona Harvey,Afua Richardson,Roxane Gay  Spider-Woman: Shifting Gears Vol. 1: Baby Talk - Dennis Hopeless,Javier Rodriguez  Silk Vol. 1: Now and Then - Marvel Comics  Spider-Women (Spider-Woman) - Dennis Hopeless,Jason Latour,Robert Thompson,Javier Rodriguez,Robbi Rodriguez,Helen Chen  Princeless Book One: Save Yourself - Jung-Ha Kim,Jeremy Whitley,M. Goodwin,Dave Dwonch  E.X.O. - The Legend of Wale Williams Part One: A Superhero Graphic Novel - Roye Okupe,Ayodele Elegba,Sunkanmi Akinboye,Raphael Kazeem  Plume, Vol. 1 - K. Lynn Smith,Josh Blaylock,K Lynn Smith

Yeah, instead of having one more underrated book, I combined 10 underrated comics into the last spot. I have the Lumberjanes in there because their later issues are all underrated! The others are wonderful and underrated throughout. These are the comics that I try to keep up with and mostly fail but have spurts of success! And then there’s Monstress which is also underrated but I see people talk about in an ongoing way as opposed to any of these where I’ve seen some people start but not keep up with say Lumberjanes. Lots of people start that one and love it but not sure how many stick with these girls.

So that’s my Top Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem Books I’ve Read In The Past Year Or So! Be sure to go over to the Broke and Bookish and check out their list along with some of others that are linked there!

 

 

4 thoughts on “TTT: Top Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem Books I’ve Read

    1. Nice! They can Silk and Spider-Gwen did that to me. I stuck to Silk cause I like her better. Spider-Woman isn’t in a coming-of-age story though. She’s established and just quit the Avengers. A full grown adult! I think she’s even my age.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

