TTT: Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I Read for the First Time in 2016

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is about the authors each blogger discovered this year, and these are mine! I know I’ve gushed about their books a lot throughout the year, but this was the first year that I really made an effort to read diversely but not necessarily in a fashion tied to heritage months or numbers so it wasn’t all stressful. I just jumped in and went for it. Except WIT Month, but even that grew from it’s small “month” beginnings. Here are the authors that I found and loved for the first time this year along with the title that introduced me to them:

Jacqueline Woodson. I first found this author browsing around for a book of poetry or children’s book to sift through during a work break. I figured I could get a quick little read in and found this amazing memory written in poetry. Here’s my review for it. I also finished Another Brooklyn last night and the review will be posted later today.

Brown Girl Dreaming - Jacqueline Woodson

Sabaa Tahir. This book was recommended all over the place and for good reason. I read and reviewed here along with the sequel. I can’t wait for  the third one to come out. I also follow Tahir on Twitter because she’s amazing. She promotes other authors and talks about racism and other issues in books.

An Ember in the Ashes - Sabaa Tahir

Monika Held. Held is a German author that I found when constructing my TBR for WIT Month. This is an amazing book that I’ve gushed about on more than one TTT and reviewed here. So good. I’ll be looking for more titles from her on next year’s WIT Month.

This Place Holds No Fear - Anne Posten,Monika Held

Shin Kyung-sook. I also found Kyung-sook during WIT Month. I’ve since added several of her books to my TBR. I had no idea that this wasn’t even the most popular of her books but I found it mesmerizing. As mentioned above, I just finished Another Brooklyn and the style Woodson used in that book really reminded me of this one. I reviewed it here.

The Girl Who Wrote Loneliness: A Novel - Shin Kyung-sook,Jung Ha-Yun

Zen Cho. Cho is another one that I added a bunch of her titles after reading this. The entire concept of the story is brilliant to me. This is a good example of why it’s just fun read diversely even if you didn’t believe in the politics. I reviewed it here.

The Terracotta Bride - Zen Cho

Catherynne Valente. I found Valente because of the Read Harder Challenge. I had put this book on my list for a middle grade novel and I loved it. It felt like the first time I saw Alice in Wonderland or the Wizard of Oz. I haven’t read either of those, but it just had the same kind of wonder. I loved it and reviewed it here. I still planning on reading the rest of the series.

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making - Ana Juan,Catherynne M. Valente

Charlotte Perkins Gilman. Known for being an early feminist, Perkins wrote about those parts of women’s lives. The only book of hers that I’ve read was this one, reviewed here, but I still want to read a few others, specifically Herland.

The Yellow Wallpaper - Charlotte Perkins Gilman,Elaine Hedges

Gail Carriger. This was my first Steampunk and I loved it. I read and reviewed the whole Finishing School series, starting with this one here. She writes a few more series set in the same world that are all on my TBR.

Etiquette and Espionage: Number 1 in series (Finishing School) by Gail Carriger (2013-02-05) - Gail Carriger;

Tahereh Mafi. While the story for these is great, despite the love triangle and its wierdness, it’s the writing that really makes this series. I had the worst book hangover after this. It’s told in the first person and you can feel the protagonist’s progression in a way that I never had before. Plus, the way she describes things while she’s a little crazy and way too isolated was beautiful. Yes, it could be called childish, but it was still magnificent. I ran through the whole series so fast that I ended up reviewing them together in one post here.

Shatter Me Complete Collection: Shatter Me, Destroy Me, Unravel Me, Fracture Me, Ignite Me - Tahereh Mafi

Marjorie Liu.  I love this comic series from the political statement of an evil matriarchal society to the exemplary world building. It’s just too amazing. I’ve been meaning to get into some of Liu’s novels but haven’t gotten to them yet. Still, I love her comic work.

Monstress #1 - Sana Takeda,Marjorie M. Liu

 

Don’t forget to click over to the Broke and the Bookish to see what other authors were newly found this year by fellow bloggers!

5 thoughts on “TTT: Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I Read for the First Time in 2016

  1. Ooooh, I love so many of these authors! Shatter Me is AMAZINGNESS and I’d actually love to re-read it because it’s been years since I devoured a Tahereh Mafi book. She’s such a good writer omg. And I really want to read Brown Girl Dreaming. I should put that up higher on my TBR actually, heeh. Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

