Princeless Volume 1: Save Yourself

Review:

Princeless, Vol. 1: Save Yourself by Whitley, Jeremy (2014) Paperback - Jeremy WhitleyI did not expect to like this one nearly as much as I did. I figured it was a cute concept with a WOC as a main character and as royalty, which was an especially nice touch, but I did not anticipate the awesomeness. There’s just too much to love here.

Adrienne Ashe never wanted to be a princess. She hates fancy dinners, is uncomfortable in lavish dresses, and has never wanted to wait on someone else to save her.

However, on the night of her 16th-birthday, her parents, the King and Queen, locked her away in a tower guarded by a dragon to await the rescue of some handsome prince. Now Adrienne has decided to take matters into her own hands!
Come join the Eisner-nominated team of Jeremy Whitley and M. Goodwin for a tale of swashbuckling in the face of sexism. Princeless is the action/adventure for the girl who’s tired of waiting to be rescued and ready to save herself!

It got me right at the beginning when she was yelling at her parents about ever putting her in a tower with a dragon. Then the story started to play out and I just…

giphy

It looks all I-just-want-to-kill-the-helpless-princess-trope at the beginning and then the feminism with all kinds of intersections just gets on everything. I mean, she even calls out her prince for calling her fair when she’s a black princess. Then it goes on to call out all sorts of feminist things like this: screenshot_2016-11-29-15-27-59

then there’s catcalling and so much other fun stuff and it’s just volume 1! I read the first chapter to my son and he really enjoyed it, asking for the second and then the third. We had to stop there because it was bedtime but you get the picture. It’s not just fun for girls. I now have plans to binge through the rest just as soon as I finish the book I just got from the library. Okay, I’m just kidding. The boy liked it enough that we may binge through together for a while.

I’m reading through it on Scribd but it’s also available at Amazon and the Book Depository.

Leave a Reply

