The Happenings – Nov 2016

What a month! I did finally manage to catch up to my Goodreads reading challenge and then some. I’ve been surprisingly productive for most of it.


Currently reading

Another Brooklyn: A Novel - Jacqueline Woodson

I just picked up Another Brooklyn. It got me right away too. I just love the way she writes. I had read Brown Girl Dreaming a while back and loved it, so I looked forward to this as soon as I heard about it. Woodson’s style is captivating and a bit poetic even in prose. I look forward to finishing it and posting a review by maybe next week.

 

The Unbroken Line of the Moon (The Valhalla Series) - Tara F. Chace,Johanne Hildebrandt

The Unbroken Line of the Moon is my current audiobook that I should be done with tonight or tomorrow and a review posted before the end of the week. It’s an interesting story that doesn’t shy away from the toxic masculinity in the Viking culture or the way that the women were powerful in their own right. I’m intrigued to see how it ends.

 


Read this month

Fiction:

Comics:

Nonfiction:

Poetry:


Bible Project

Yeah, this is where I wasn’t productive. I want to do this project but I started feeling antsy about finishing my reading challenges last month and had to step it up on those. Unfortunately, that meant that this took a hit. I did manage to finish off 1 Chronicles and then start 2 Chronicles just today though. December should go better on this front.


Reading Challenges

Read Harder – DONE!!!!!!!!!!

  • The Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing

Reading Nobel Women

  • The Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing
  • Freedom From Fear and Other Writings by Aung San Suu Kyi

Life and Feminsm

Like I said before, this has been quite the month. I genuinely hate talking about the election and would rather forget the whole season even happened except that one little reminder, you know, the person who will be sitting at the big desk in my own country. I know, it’s just…. well, everything has been said by everyone. I’m not a fan, I didn’t vote for him, but we’ll see what happens. I am encouraged by the protests that people aren’t about to take the racism and sexism that popped up all over the place without a struggle. We’ll see what form it takes as the next four years progress. I hope for lots of surprises but I won’t hold my breath.

Then there was Thanksgiving and my Black Friday hibernation. I know the deals and the blah, but I just can’t. I can’t deal with people on that scale and I just don’t even go out until Saturday, even then, it’s to eat something other than turkey. I had a wonderful family visit and relaxed for the weekend. Due to other family members visiting, I had a surprising amount of reading time. My son is less interested in Mommy playing Infinity with him when there are others willing to play and that he had. It gave me the opportunity to make a big push to catch up on my Goodreads Reading challenge of reading 150 books this year. I started with 200 but downgraded later and now I’m going to safely get there. I think I’ll only go with 100 for next year though. I should blog more if I’m going to blog, right?

At the beginning of the year, I felt so helplessly behind everyone else’s reading and I still tend to gush about the same books over and over on Top Ten Tuesdays, but I feel like I’m catching up so I’ll relax the pace. That said, I’m also thinking about hosting a reading challenge. I kind of started one already with the Nobel Women and anyone who wants to join is welcome. But I want to do one for the calendar year as well. I also want to get into doing more tags and talking about the things that were the purpose of even starting the blog.

The other amazing thing this month was finding Litsy. I’m @StoredFeminism, just like I am on Twitter. I’ve pretty much quit Twitter on account of Litsy. It really is the perfect forum for talking about books and even made me rethink having a blog instead of just having Litsy. That’s how much I love it. I can only hope to keep up with everyone I follow there. To be clear, though, I am not giving up the blog, I just thought about it, for like a second when I was in the middle of conversation that was sparked by @RealLifeReading’s photo a day posts, but I am not actually giving up the blog. Then I’d have to give up Top Ten Tuesday and I think we all know that’s not happening.

Or maybe I can do reviews on Litsy and get a better chance to do more tags and lists and weekly memes and there I go again.

2 thoughts on “The Happenings – Nov 2016

  1. Sounds like you had a good Thanksgiving. I’m with you when it comes to Black Friday, I really cannot conceive of tempting enough offer that would make me go out. The last time I went was a few years back and it was actually on Thursday night, which wasn’t so bad. Even so, I kind of prefer the online deals during this time. Hope you have a wonderful December!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

