TTT: Top Ten Books/Comics I’d buy for an adventurous little girl, if I had one

Today’s  Top Ten Tuesday is a Holiday Gift Guide Freebie. While I love my son to pieces, it is when putting together his holiday presents that I wish for a little girl too. In addition to him, not instead. When I think of a book for him, I get to go just buy it, but when I read a book I’d love to share with a little girl, I have no one. Not even a little cousin or niece to share it with. It’s a little depressing that way. Maybe I’ll have a girl one day…..

Until then, these are some of the books I’ll dream to share:

Lumberjanes, Vol. 1 -  Noelle Stevenson,Grace Ellis,Brooke A. Allen  Gotham Academy Vol. 1 - Brendan Fletcher,Karl Kerschel,Becky Cloonan  Agent Carter: S.H.I.E.L.D. 50th Anniversary #1 - Kathryn Immonen,Rich Ellis,Declan Shalvey  Ms. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal - G. Willow Wilson,Adrian Alphona  The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making - Ana Juan,Catherynne M. Valente  Girls Think of Everything: Stories of Ingenious Inventions by Women - Catherine Thimmesh,Melissa Sweet  Rad American Women A-Z: Rebels, Trailblazers, and Visionaries who Shaped Our History . . . and Our Future! - Kate Schatz,Miriam Klein Stahl  The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell - Chris Colfer  A Wrinkle in Time - Madeleine L'EnglePrinceless Book One: Save Yourself - Jung-Ha Kim,Jeremy Whitley,M. Goodwin,Dave Dwonch

It was originally only nine but I added Princeless about an hour after the original post went up because I had just finished it and it gave me that feeling too. It’s actually really good and I’ll be posting a review on it later this week!

Check out the Broke and the Bookish for the rest of the Top Ten Tuesday posts!

5 thoughts on “TTT: Top Ten Books/Comics I’d buy for an adventurous little girl, if I had one

    1. I’ll have to check that one out! I’m always on the lookout for books like these nowadays. It proves that we’ve been a part of changing the world forever rather than what a lot people like to think women were doing.
      I’m glad little girls are enjoying them! I hope to get my son in on the Land of Stories books too but his reading isn’t ready for any of these yet. But I do have a list in my head for him to with some overlap.

      Like

  1. Ooh, some great picks here for a really great topic! I really need to start reading Ms. Marvel and Lumberjanes. I’m not a huge comics reader, but as a feminist, I feel like it’s important.

    I have two books I would suggest for your list!

    Have you seen Wonder Women by Sam Maggs? It’s another book that’s chock full of awesome trailblazers, and Sam is a comic book illustrator as well, so it’s full of great drawings.

    I also recently got Boss Babes by Michelle Volansky for promo, and even though it’s an adult coloring/activity book, my best friend’s four year old is obsessed with it. It’s got great women like Michelle Obama, Julia Child, Malala, etc in it and lots of fun activities.

    And apparently I just left the longest comment ever. Your topic inspired me! New follower!

    Like

    1. Thanks! I bought Wonder Women a while back but haven’t read it yet and I will certainly look into Boss Babes.
      As comics go, I’m reading Princeless and would have put it on the list had I finished it already. I may add it before the day is over anyway….

      Like

Leave a Reply

