TTT: Top Ten Books I’m Thankful I Read This Year

Time for Top Ten Tuesday! This is a weekly meme, hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme is a Thanksgiving freebie and this year has brought some great books to my attention. These are the top ten books that I’m thankful to have read this year.

This Place Holds No Fear - Anne Posten,Monika Held

I am thankful for the way PTSD was treated in this story and the way it gave a whole new perspective on surviving Auschwitz. I am also thanksful for the beautiful message at the end. My Review

Your Fatwa Does Not Apply Here: Untold Stories from the Fight Against Muslim Fundamentalism - Karima Bennoune

I am thankful to have learned that there are lots of brave citizens of Muslim countries fighting back against terrorism and dictatorship in every way they know how. My Review
The Girl Who Wrote Loneliness: A Novel - Shin Kyung-sook,Jung Ha-YunI am thankful to have experienced regret this way. I’ve never seen it written like this. My Review

Asking for It: Slut-shaming, Victim-blaming, and How We Can Change America's Rape Culture - Kate Harding

I am thankful for the way things are changing and the people responsible for it. My Reivew

Men Explain Things to Me - Rebecca Solnit

I am thankful for a better appreciation of the cost of silence and allowing myself and others to be silenced around me. There is a cost for silence and we need to stop paying it.  My Review

Lumberjanes, Vol. 1 -  Noelle Stevenson,Grace Ellis,Brooke A. Allen

I am thankful for this group of girls who are awesome and funny and embracing their own weirdness. My Review of Volume 1 to get things started.

Monstress #1 - Sana Takeda,Marjorie M. Liu

I am thankful for an evil matriarchal society. I know it sounds weird but I’m tired of the thought that women are bound to create a utopian society if given all the power. Here’s the review of the first one to get a curious reader started.

Between the World and Me - Ta-Nehisi Coates

I am thankful for a better understanding of race in the US. While I know that the black woman’s perspective is still inherently different from the black man’s perspective, this book provides a window into a structure that I hadn’t experienced and I am grateful for it.  My Review

Reimagining Equality: Stories of Gender, Race, and Finding Home - Anita Hill

I am thankful for this look at how the home shapes our initial concepts of race and gender. It hadn’t occurred to me in quite the same way, though not it seems painfully obvious. My Review

The Birth of the Pill: How Four Crusaders Reinvented Sex and Launched a Revolution - Jonathan Eig

I am grateful to have never lived in a world without the pill or reproductive assistance. I cringe and shudder every time I think of what it was like. My Review

I know I’ve gushed about several of these throughout the year as well, but there’s good reason for it. Each one is amazing in it’s own way. Here are my reviews of them:

Also, some honorary mentions:

  • I Suffer Not a Woman; there are many interpretations of 1 Tim 2:11 but I am thankful for this one and the change in the implications that it brings with it. That verse makes absolutely no sense otherwise.
  • Rising Strong; this wasn’t meant to be a writing aide but the piece on Pixar has completely changed the way I look at writing stories and on managing life, to which I am eternally grateful.
  • Brown Girl Dreaming; I am thankful this got me back into poetry and taught me a lesson on how much more poetry is capable of showing us.

 

Don’t forget to go to the Broke and Bookish and check out the  rest of this Thanksgiving freebie!

 

4 thoughts on “TTT: Top Ten Books I’m Thankful I Read This Year

  1. Wow. This is an excellent list. There are a few I have been wanting to read, a few I will definitely be looking up, and a few that I have already read (Between the World and Me, Brown Girl Dreaming). I really like how you approached TTT this week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

