International Men’s Day

Yes, they actually have one. I first saw it on Wikipedia when looking at International Observance Days. In honor of this day,  I wanted to share a book from each of my favorite author’s who are men!

  Inca Gold - Clive Cussler  Without Remorse  - Tom Clancy

 It - Stephen King  Ender's Game - Orson Scott Card  The Wishing Spell - Chris Colfer,Brandon Dorman

I read Between the World and Me and some of The Land of Stories books this year but the rest were long time favorites from around the time of the third wave of feminism started. Yeah, saying that makes me feel a little old. Anywho, I love these guys!

None write a perfectly feminist book, but I feel like no one does. People have a tendency to write about women or write about race or write women well or pay good attention to race relations or have strong female characters or or or. Still, I feel like doing one or two of these is progress in a feminist direction because if we go way back to the beginning of Cussler, we have smart women who shouldn’t be damsels in distress still finding themselves in those situations and being saved while mostly being love interesting for the cis straight white male protagonist. And I can barely remember a woman in any of the Clancy books that wasn’t Ryan’s wife. Except in Without Remorse, which does touch on quite a few social issues given that it’s about the protagonist going on a killing spree of the Baltimore underground that was responsible for killing his ex-prostitute girlfriend. But  I read it long enough ago that I don’t remember how it treats race or class or any of the intersections, so it’s a problem when trying to recommend books for back then.

Three more recent male authors that I’ve read, one of which has wild acclaim for writing a book that breaks the Manic Pixie Dream Girl, and the other two have written books that I’ve seen were read and reviewed all over the book blogosphere:
Between the World and Me - Ta-Nehisi CoatesAll the Light We Cannot See: A Novel - Anthony Doerr, Zach Appelman,Simon & Schuster AudioPaper Towns by Green, John (2009) Paperback - John Green

Leave a Reply

