TTT: Top Ten Books I’d love to see made into movies

These are some books/graphic novels I’d like to see become movies (if done faithfully). I know that sometimes this has disastrous results, but I want they were so good and I would love to see the way some of the scenes translate to the big screen. They are in two basic groups, some are because we deserve to have that movie and others are because the imagery is so great that I want to experience that way.

Because we deserve it:

Lumberjanes, Vol. 1 -  Noelle Stevenson,Grace Ellis,Brooke A. Allen

These girls deserve their own movie. At least one. Okay, maybe a television series down the road instead, but really.

Ms. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal - G. Willow Wilson,Adrian Alphona

So deserving of her place in the Marvel Cinematic University. If we can EVER get a female-led movie out of them.

About the Night

I love a good period movie and the setting for this is Jerusalem just after the creation of the State of Israel. There are some big scenes with imagery and landscape that seems like it would be beautiful. It would also be a good book to use to showcase a bit of the conflict between the Israeli’s and Palestinians and the way that their conflicts have evolved since the beginning. It’s so much better than a Romeo and Juliet story but you’ll be tempted to think of it that way.

The Last Good Girl: A Novel - Allison Leotta,Simon & Schuster Audio,Tavia Gilbert

This would just be a great movie for a much wider audience than will read this book. It’s such a relevant topic in the US (and much more places but this is where it takes place).

 

Oh, the imagery:
Cinder - Marissa Meyer

I mean, just imagine what New Beijing and Artemisia will look like up there.

Finishing School Series (4 Book Series) - Gail CarrigerThis would be so much fun on the screen! Victorian period movies are so stunning, but add in the dirigible that is their school and I just need it in my life. I loved this series and think it would just be so much fun.

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making - Ana Juan,Catherynne M. Valente

It just needs to happen and Disney or Dreamworks can do it. They can do it now. Please.

Monstress #1 - Sana Takeda,Marjorie M. Liu

The art is fantastic and we’re still in the middle of the main story line but I think it would be amazing on screen, big or small. It has a very grandiose Game of Thrones kind of feel to it but with a matriarchal society instead and I just love that.

The Terracotta Bride - Zen Cho

Images of the Chinese afterlife? Yes, please!

An Ember in the Ashes - Sabaa Tahir

No way I’m the only one that wants to see Blackcliff brought to life. Oh, and I want to know who would be cast as the Commandant. She’s so magnificent in an Evil Queen or Cersei sort of way.

Do you have any books you’d love to see turned into movies? Check out the hosts of this weekly meme at the Broke and Bookish!

7 thoughts on “TTT: Top Ten Books I’d love to see made into movies

  1. What a fun take on the topic! I’ve only read the first volume of Lumberjanes — I should probably give it more of a chance. I’d love to see the world of Cinder on screen, and I think Gail Carriger’s books would be awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

