Finished the Read Harder Challenge!!!

read-harder

I’m very excited that I have completed the Read Hard Challenge! There are links to the reviews of books done for the challenge at the bottom of the post.

This was a great challenge to start off with. I had signed up for it before I saw and signed up for the Year of Reading Women of Color Challenge. Progress with this one prompted me to sign up for more and now I may be getting a little ahead of myself. I’m sure I’ll do the challenge again next year!

I had never done one before starting this and there were several books that started out on my list that I later had to remove either because I was already reading one that fit better, I realized it didn’t fit at all, I had trouble getting my hands on it, or another challenge made it more convenient to choose a different book. The last few changes were made to accommodate my newest effort, which is Reading Nobel Women. Here’s my original post on my original list of books way back in March.

The best part of doing the challenge was getting out of my comfort zone to find books that I wouldn’t normally read, like a middle grade novel. Some of the books were already on my TBR but several tasks were added specifically for this and I was glad for it. Every challenge I’ve done has had its own rewards and books that I am grateful to have found on account of and this was no exception. Three books that I probably wouldn’t have read but are totally up my alley anyway were The Yellow Wallpaper, The Bell Jar, and A Raisin in the Sun. They’re historic, but  I have a strange aversion to certain kinds of classics. I’m always afraid the hype or the relevance will disappoint me or creepy me out. While that was true of others, these two were still phenomonal and I wish I had read them in scool.

  1. Read a horror book: The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon
  2. Read a nonfiction book about science: Girls Think of Everything by Catherine Thimmesh
  3. Read a collection of essays: The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories by Marina Keegan
  4. Read a book out loud to someone else: On the Night You Were Born
  5. Read a middle grade novel: The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente, illustrated by Ana Juan
  6. Read a biography (not memoir or autobiography): Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg by Irin Carmon and Shana Knizhnik
  7. Read a dystopian or post-apocalyptic novel: Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Mafi
  8. Read a book originally published in the decade you were born: No Time For Tears by Cynthia Freeman
  9. Listen to an audiobook that has won an Audie Award: Euphoria by Lily King
  10. Read a book over 500 pages long: The Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing
  11. Read a book under 100 pages: The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
  12. Read a book by or about a person that identifies as transgender: Whipping Girl: A Transsexual Woman on Sexism and the Scapegoating of Femininity by Julia Serano
  13. Read a book that is set in the Middle East: Until We Are Free: My Fight for Human Rights in Iran by Shirin Ebadi
  14. Read a book that is by an author from Southeast Asia: First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers by Loung Ung
  15. Read a book of historical fiction set before 1900: Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger
  16. Read the first book in a series by a person of color: The Tale of Yin by Joyce Chng
  17. Read a non-superhero comic the debuted in the last three years: Monstress by Marjorie M. Liu and Sana Takeda (this one cost the most issues)
  18. Read a book that was adapted into a movie, then watch the movie. Debate which is better. How to Be Single by Liz Tuccillo (movie debate: What’s Better: How To Be Single)
  19. Read a nonfiction book about feminism or dealing with feminist themes: Reimagining Equality: Stories of Gender, Race, and Finding Home by Anita Hill
  20. Read a book about religion (fiction or nonfiction): I Suffer Not a Woman: Rethinking I Timothy 2:11-15 in Light of Ancient Evidence by Richard Clark Kroeger and Catherine Clark Kroeger
  21. Read a book about politics, in your country or another (fiction or nonfiction): Uprising: A New Age is Dawning for Every Mother’s Daughter by Sally Armstrong
  22. Read a food memoir: The Tao of Martha: My Year of LIVING; Or, Why I’m Never Getting All That Glitter Off of the Dog by Jen Lancaster
  23. Read a play: A Raisin in the Sun by Lorraine Hansberry
  24. Read a book with a main character that has a mental illness: The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Is anyone else doing the Read Harder Challenge? Anyone else done yet or close?

4 thoughts on “Finished the Read Harder Challenge!!!

  1. Three books left! Richard Dawkins The Selfish Gene (75% done), Strangers on a Train by Patricia Highsmith (33% done) and John Fowles the French Lieutenants Woman (40% done). Really struggling with the read aloud challenge, I had no idea how much it would slow me down! But feeling pretty on track nonetheless 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a six year old that gets read to every night, so I just used on of his books. I wanted to do Harry Potter because we read that to him over several nights but like four people read different parts depending on who was visiting. I was lucky to have an easy listener

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

