TTT: Top Ten Comic Characters I Wish to See on Halloween

It took me a while to really decide how I wanted to do this one, especially since I’m not a fan of scary stories. But I do love dressing up! I was sad to find that some of my favorite comic characters don’t even appear to have costumes made for them while I have scarcely seen other characters in my lifetime despite their popularity. That was when it hit me. So, I’ve made a list of characters for Halloween, but I’m also dividing up the list. The first five are characters I wish had costumes and the second five are characters I’d love to see and actually have a chance to.

Yes, some of the first five will have boutiques and whatnot that may show up, but their costumes haven’t hit mainstream stores and so it’s a bit harder to think I’ll see little girls dressed up as them.

Characters I’d love to see out there but costumes readily available for girls:

Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed - G. Willow Wilson,Adrian Alphona

Silk Vol. 1: Now and Then - Marvel ComicsCaptain Marvel Volume 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More - Kelly Sue DeConnick,David LópezStorm Volume 1: Make it Rain - Greg Pak,Victor Ibanez,Scott HepburnLumberjanes, Vol. 1 -  Noelle Stevenson,Grace Ellis,Brooke A. Allen

 

 

 

 

 

And before you say that I have Captain Marvel or Storm in the wrong category, I’d like the kid friendly costume, not the ’80’s costumes that are provocative on grown women. Also, the Lumberjanes would be AMAZING as a girl group somewhere.

Catwoman, Vol. 1: The Dark End of the Street - Ed Brubaker,Darwyn Cooke,Mike AllredSupergirl at Super Hero High (DC Super Hero Girls) - Lisa Yee,Random HouseWonder Woman at Super Hero High (DC Super Hero Girls) - Lisa Yee,Random House

Batgirl Vol. 1: The Batgirl of Burnside (The New 52) - Babs Tarr,Cameron Stewart

Black Widow Volume 2: The Tightly Tangled Web - Mitch Gerads,Nathan Edmondson,Phil Noto

 

 

 

 

 

Now, I don’t want to go all SJW on a top ten Tuesday post, but I hope everyone out there is conscientious about their costume choices and avoid cultural appropriation. That said, what is your take on blurring lines for characters?

I get that there’s a difference between dressing up as a “Muslim” or in a “sexy burqa” is totally inappropriate, but what about a non-brown person wearing the new Ms. Marvel? The origin of the costume is a burkini. Or what’s the consensus on race-bending your favorite character because you love them so much?

It’s easy to do a google search and find all the outlandishly crazy things but superheroes and other characters have a tendency to sit in a weird middle where it’s more about the love of the character than being of the same background and I’m curious about what others think, so let’s talk about it!

For other Top Ten Tuesday posts on this Halloween freebie, go to the Broke and the Bookish!

5 thoughts on “TTT: Top Ten Comic Characters I Wish to See on Halloween

  1. Fun twist on this week’s theme! My daughter is dressing up as Harley Quinn this year, and she was Wonder Woman two years ago! She’s a fan of the Super Hero High.

    I don’t view it as cultural appropriation to dress up as a superhero that is portrayed by someone who is a different race/ethnicity than you. You do bring up an interesting point when referencing Ms. Marvel, and the origin of her costume. Have you ever heard of the “We’re a Culture, not a Costume” ad campaign?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! When I first saw the campaign, I thought it was a little over the top and then I saw the pictures and realized what they were talking about and couldn’t agree more. I feel like it’s different to dress up as a character or historical figure of that culture if you do it respectfully. But even then, wearing things you didn’t earn is a part of the problem, so is the little bits of “flare” that people add. People don’t even do it to be respectfully, they always add weird bits about the way historical figures died if their going to add something. There are just so many things wrong with the way we do Halloween in general. People aren’t as funny as they think they are and being expected to wear next to nothing when it’s near freezing outside is stupid. I didn’t mind when I lived in Florida wearing “sexy” costumes, but ever since I first moved further north, it’s been ridiculous. So many women do it but I only had to freeze my butt off at one Halloween party before I was done with that mess.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

