FF: Great Girlfriends!

Between I Thought It Was Just Me pointing out the way people think women and can’t be friends and are just catty and reading Lumberjanes yesterday, I realized that books about great girlfriends would make a great Femme Friday post this week!

There really is this horrible idea that women don’t go along, that we just have to be or are naturally catty and obstinate toward each other, that we are in competition. I don’t actually know any women like that and I’ve known a lot of women. I’ve seen it in media plenty, but I just don’t know women like that. I know women who are vulnerable. I know women who experience shame over much smaller slights than what I see in media because of all the things we’re “supposed” to be. I know women who accidentally hurt others by not realizing their social location in the conversation. I know women who reach out to each other. I know women who support each other. I know women who disagree but appreciate each other.

In honor of all the women I actually do know, I’m going to share stories that mirror the relationships I have with them and have seen among them. I left out sister stories because that’s a whole other thing. Here are some great groups of girlfriends!

  • How to Be Single by Liz Tuccillo – it’s not the best book in the world, but the friendships are great.
  • Finishing School series by Gail Carriger, which is composed of Etiquette and EspionageCurtsies and ConspiraciesWaistcoats and Weaponry; and Manners and Mutiny – I have nothing but great things to say about this series from the girlfriends to the love interests to plot to various levels of villainy.
  • The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, composed of CinderScarletCress, and Winter. – they may not be presented as a group of girlfriends, they certainly grow into one. That thought process is totally substantiated by Stars Above when they all get together again. Yeah, they’re friends with the guys too, but they kind of have their own thing also.
  • Lumberjanes – Friendship to the MAX! Yeah, I had to go there.
  • Gotham Academy – Uh, ditto? I can’t wait until this one combines with the Lumberjanes! I know they have a few volumes out but I’m trying to catch up on them individually before going there. And I know, this one has guys in the group too, but Olivia and Maps are so great they make up for it a bit.
  • Suffrajitsu: Mrs. Pankhurst’s Amazons – These ladies were so much fun! I love the concept and the alternate history that was folded in, but mostly it was just the discourse between them that made this a great comic.

Have you read any books with great girlfriends?

One thought on “FF: Great Girlfriends!

  1. This is a great post. I, unfortunately, know too many women like that but meeting people in the blogging community has drastically changed the ratio of awesome women vs women like that. I shall add all these to my tbr, especially the cinder series an etiquette series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

