Femme Friday: Nobel Laureates

Thus far, I have only read three books by Nobel Laureates. I’ve read other books that have included the accomplishments of Nobel Laureates, but only penned by them. I’m pretty sure the number wouldn’t greatly increase if I dug through the anthologies of women that I’ve read either.

Click here for a full list of the women who have been awarded the Nobel Prize. There are only 48 of the 896 awards that have been given. 48. FORTY EIGHT. Is it just me, or is that ridiculous?

There being only 48 women, I feel like it’s entirely possible to have read a book by or about each of them. I feel a reading challenge for next year coming on, but it won’t be my only one. Here are the women I’ve read so far:

Leymah Gbowee‘s memoir: Mighty Be Our Powers: How Sisterhood, Prayer, and Sex Changed a Nation at War. This is a memoir of the events that she was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for. This is a joint award with Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, the president of Liberia, and Tawakel Karman, the founder of Women Journalists Without Chains. Gbowee also gives an amazing TEDtalk on the intelligence, passion, and greatness of girls. Her memoir is AMAZING and she reads the audiobook herself. I had listened to the audiobook, which I loved.

Malala Yousafzai‘s memoir: I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban. She was jointly awarded the prize with Kailash Satyarthi, in recognition of their activism toward all children receiving an education. It may seem trivial in a country, like mine, where education is compulsory and free and yet there are many drop outs, but an education is something that many children around the world are deprived of because of cost and differing levels of oppression that children of different countries and nationalities deal with.

Toni Morrison‘s Beloved. Of the 14 women who have been awarded the Nobel prize in Literature, I have only read one and the book of hers that I read was not my favorite. I’ve mentioned before why I did not like reading this book. I do want to read another of her books to get a better feel for Morrison as an author because her literary style was beautiful, the topic just really triggered some things I was still working through. Yes, I’m taking suggestions on another book of her’s to read. Please nothing that has development around dead children, particularly infants.

Awesomely enough, this does coincide a bit with a future reading challenge that I want to start working on in January, but it’ll take much longer than a year. This one I think I can do by the time the next laureates are announced, especially since I have a bit of a head start. I started a Goodreads listReading Women Nobel Laureates, for anyone who wants to join me!

Note: There is also this amazing list that is specific to the women who have been awarded the prize in Literature.

 

Leave a Reply

