The Happenings – September 2016

What a month! It’s been a little slow on the blogging front and I hope to get back to my faster pace in October. We’ll see what happens, though.


Currently Reading

Dangerous Women is my audiobook currently. It is MUCH longer than I am accostumed to at 32 hours longs. I’ve got about six hours left and a partially post was accidentally posted yesterday. It’s an anthology so there are some stories I like and some I don’t and one that I couldn’t bring myself to finish. The readers are quite the ensemble and include some recognizable television names.

I got it from the library, but it can be found on Amazon, just click the cover, or the Book Depository here.

No Time For Tears is one of my Read Harder books. It’s a book that was published in the decade I was born. I hate this cover because it makes the story look like it’s about some 80’s rich chick who was mean to people. Contrary to that notion, it’s begins with a family in poverty in Russia.

I have this one on Scribd. If your interested in reading it too, the cover also leads to Amazon and then Book Depository has it here, and it’s only available on audio CD there.


Read this month

Fiction

Comics

Non-fiction


Bible Reading

I wanted to finish 2 Kings this month. I even had a head start but this has not been the month for blogging for me. I spent the whole month feeling drastically behind in everything. It’s been crazy.


Reading Challenges

Read Harder – just the one I’m currently reading. Yes, I totally failed this month.

Reading Women of Color

  • An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
  • Something Fierce: Memoirs of a Revolutionary Daughter by Carmen Aguirre

Sooooo…. I’m glad I’ve been working on these challenges and not getting totally crazy about them. I also continued working on my WIT Month reads. I’m getting close finishing the Reading Women of Color challenge!


Life and feminism

So it’s been a little over a year now. I did a fairly big overhaul last month of the design of the site and I’m still working on some things. I’ve begun to go through and add my reviews to Amazon and Scribd on books that I’m  reading. There’s a part of me that wants to go back and update all the books I’ve read, but that’s too many. I am considering doing a few of my shelves, specifically the Underrated on Goodreads one because I feel like they’re probably underrated elsewhere also, and maybe the shelves that compliment or could be integrated into education. I’ve also started experimenting with the Book Depository.

Okay, so I didn’t have anything for Celebrate Bisexuality Day, so I passed on writing about it but I totally missed World Contraception Day! I was so sad when I saw it after the fact because I LOVED The Birth of the Pill: How Four Crusaders Reinvented Sex and Launched Revolution by Jonathon Eig so much! If you haven’t read it, you should.

I did start reading Women of the Revolution: Forty Years of Feminism. It’s kind of my Twitter read. I’ll be sharing quotes and thoughts as I go. It’s a collection of news articles about feminism in the UK, beginnning in 1971, so it’s not the sort of book you need to just sit down and get through. I’ll be reading and tweeting about a new article at least once a week, and I’m interested in other’s thought on the topicis it talks about and some of the things they say about it. I had decided to do it this way after reading the first article. I wanted to get away from a Quote of the Week and move into sharing more quotes and maybe starting a conversation about the books I read, so this is a bit of an experiment. We’ll see how it goes. My twitter is on the sidebar, if you want to preview some. The book is available at the Book Depository and Amazon if you want to read along.

I normally get a chance to get through some more books than this one but this has been crazy and I had no idea how big Dangerous Women was when I downloaded it, but whatevs. I just really want to hit my new reading goal for the year, which is 150. Ambitious, yes, but not impossible. I originally had it set for 200, that wasn’t quite possible, not with having to have a day job. One day…..

Leave a Reply

