TTT: Top Ten Books on my Fall TBR

I’ve done a few posts throughout the year that have mentioned books that I still haven’t gotten around to. They’re my priority for the rest of the year, along with finishing my reading challenges. Still, there are one or two more that I look forward to more. I’m going to split them up between comics and books (fiction and nonfiction) but you’ve probably seen most of these on other posts of mine.

Comics:

Spider-Man: India TPB (Amazing Spider-Man) - Jeevan J. Kang

So, I first mentioned this one a few months ago in my Diverse Books Tag – Superheroes!! post. I do love Spider-Man but parts of his story have been so played out and regurgitated lately. I was so happy to see the current MCU skip right over his original story. It was fun and cute the first time, how many times do we have to see it already?

Yes, this is the same story again, but with a radical twist. What if it had happened in India instead? How would the story be different? Well, I’m looking forward to finding out.


Princeless Book One: Save Yourself - Jeremy Whitley,M. Goodwin,Jung-Ha Kim,Dave Dwonch

First mentioned with the other comics I had gotten in this  post, I have kept this comic on the back-burner.  I read and reviewed a stand-alone collection of stories outside the main story line called Princeless: Tales of Girls Who Rock! I enjoyed that one and am looking forward to getting into the main story line.

With a title like that, how could I resist?


I first this one at the beginning of the E.X.O. - The Legend of Wale Williams Part One: A Superhero Graphic Novel - Roye Okupe,Ayodele Elegba,Sunkanmi Akinboye,Raphael Kazeem month at the Baltimore Comic-con. I mentioned it, along with some others, in my post about the new discoveries I found there.

This is a book made and set in Africa. It’s a dystopian/sci-fi Africa and I can’t even express how cool a setting for a story is. I almost don’t care what it’s about, I just have to read it and experience its world.

 


The Waking - Raven Gregory

Also mentioned in that comic haul with Princeless, was this one.

I’ll be honest. It started with the cover. It was just the cover for a while. But the story is about people waking from the dead in order to avenge their own murders. That sounds like it’s gonna be fun.

And I really need to know what the deal is with this little girl. I get that she was probably murdered and awoken, but I have to get the details.


Gotham Academy Vol. 1 - Brendan Fletcher,Karl Kerschel,Becky Cloonan  I actually have this one in my “Currently Reading” list on Goodreads and Booklikes. I haven’t started it yet, but it’s at the top of the list. I just got it from the elibrary after finishing Batgirl because I’m in the same situation with the computer and a network where Scribd and Amazon is blocked for a fair portion of my reading time. My reading life is weird.

Anyway, I thought it looked cute enough and I’m interested in the cross-overs I’ve noticed with Lumberjanes.


Books:

A Torch Against the Night - Sabaa Tahir

I’m on hold at the library for the audiobook and am only slightly patient on account of currently listening to Dangerous Women, because its 32 hours of listening. That should get me to this one being available. I’m the next person in line and have been for a few days now.

I might check a few times a day to see if my status changed. No big deal. Don’t judge me. I listened to and loved  the first one, An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir


In Order to Live: A North Korean Girl's Journey to Freedom - Yeonmi ParkI first mentioned this one in My Next 5 TBR Memoirs and then again on my Top Ten Books I’m Dying to Read. I’ve read or listened to 3 of the 5 now and this one is coming up soon. I’ve had it on the back-burner on Scribd for a while and almost started it when another book came in from the library that I’d been waiting on.

I still look forward to reading it, and I’ll definitely get to it before the end of the year.


I Thought It Was Just Me: Women Reclaiming Power and Courage in a Culture of Shame - Brené Brown

I love Brene Brown. I even did a full Femme Friday post on just her work. I’ve already read a few of her other books, but I feel like I need to be reminded a few times a year to get up and get back in that arena. Here are the reviews of the other books of hers I’ve read or listened to:

Rising StrongThe Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You AreDaring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent and Lead

Check them out! She’s fantastic!


Men Explain Things to Me - Rebecca Solnit

Mansplain is one my new favorite words. There’s even a guy at my current job that feels the need to mansplain to some of the other men, which is super fun for me to watch. I’ve stopped fighting it. I know I should (hence the need for the above book to be available in my life soon), but I just can’t do it right now.

Anyway, I’ve really wanted to read this ever since I first heard of it. It’s been on my TBR for far too long (as in also mentioned on my Top Ten Books that have been on my TBR since before I was blogging), so have to get to it by the end of the year. It was also on my Top Ten Books I’m Dying to Read along with the next book.


Asking for It: Slut-shaming, Victim-blaming, and How We Can Change America's Rape Culture - Kate Harding

Again with too long on my TBR. It was almost on that other list mentioned above too. Almost. I’ve seen it on lots of other websites and it’s been referenced a lot when it comes to rape culture. I just have to get into it, but it hasn’t been as available as I like (much like the above). I read far too much to be buying everything all the time and am still a little too much of a novice to be on anyone’s list of bloggers to give books for review to. I will read it by the end of the year. Really.


So these are my top ten books on my Fall TBR! I have lots of books left to read to make my Goodreads challenge goal, so expect to see these flying by in October. Okay, that might be a little hopeful, but still.

Check out the rest of  the Top Ten Books on other Fall TBRs at the Broke and the Bookish!

One thought on “TTT: Top Ten Books on my Fall TBR

Leave a Reply

