The Happenings – August 2016

I didn’t get to read quite as much as I wanted to this month. We had lots of family visiting and went on a road trip and there was just not as much time for reading. It’s nice that a lack of reading time was for good reasons, though, unlike some other times in my life. It’s not looking like September is going to be a whole lot better for my reading, but I hope to get it together again soon.


What I’m Reading

I have been enjoying this book. It’s not particularly long, but life has been a bit crazy and my reading time hasn’t been what it normally is. This is one of my WIT Month books, having been translated to English from German and set in Dusseldorf.

 

 

Just started today! I’ve had it on hold at the library FOREVER and it’s finally mine! Technically, I’ve had it a few days, but I had to finish my last book first. This one is my current audiobook.

 


Books I’ve read this month

Fiction

Comics

Non-fiction

 


Bible Reading

I managed to not fall further behind but I’m not exactly catching up either. I try not to sweat how long it’s taking to get through some of these books because I don’t want to rush but I don’t want seven years into this project either. I spy Psalms coming down the road and have to fight off on anxiety attack. I have yet to get a full blown one, but I get closer than I want. Still, I did all of 1 Kings and started 2 Kings this month, so I’m getting it done.


Challenges and Tags

Read Harder – took a bit of a vacation to get in my WIT books!

Reading Women of Color

  • Monstress

Women in Translation Month 2016

  • About the Night by Anat Talshir, translated by Evan Fallenberg
  • Morning Sea by Margaret Mazzantini, translated by Ann Gagliardi
  • The Whispering City by Sara Moliner, translated by Mara Faye Lethem
  • The Girl Who Wrote Lonliness by Kyung-Sook Shin, translated by Ha-Yun Jung

I know I didn’t do as well in that last one than I would have liked but I am going to finish the books I mentioned for WIT Month because this has been great. I had always wanted to read women from other countries, but had no idea how to find translated books specifically. In case you missed it, Three Percent keeps a sortable database that makes it really easy to find whatever you’re looking for.


Femme Friday

My Femme Friday posts this month were mostly focused on Women in Translation, they are:

Then the last one was about US Women’s Equality Day. It actually fell on Women’s Equality Day, so I definitely wanted to take a minute away from WIT to do that.


Life and Feminism

I made a new shelf this month on Goodreads and Booklikes. This one is called “Books I’ve Mentioned but Not Read”. I felt compelled to create this shelf on account of the fact that I don’t feel like I can just recommend a book and leave it hanging and it’s not convenient to search back through old posts. There’s also the problem of finding new books that I want to read all the time. Still, if I’ve said it was interesting, I should be able to go back and write a review for it at some point. I do also now plan to go back and add links for the books I wrote as TBRs in the past and eventually read, like all those memoirs I mentioned in My Next 5 TBR Memoirs and the Diverse books tag.

Of course, the availability of these books is an inherent problem with them. I prefer to get books at the library rather than buy them because I read so much that it would get expensive. I really need to check out the bargain book scene but I love reading on my phone and tablet so much and then I turn myself in circles over it. Still, it’s a good problem to have.

I’ve added Twitter recently and decided to do a complete Overhaul this month on the blog, even opening an Amazon affiliates account. I don’t see myself making money off this blog, but I felt like I should have an account and at least put up the links, just in case people are looking for stuff.

Don’t forget to check out all the rest of the WIT Month posts around Twitter and WordPress!


Note: All title links go to my review, the cover pictures link to Amazon for purchase of the book. The other links go to the source information or post that it pertains to.
Leave a Reply

