Taylor Swift Book Tag

I was tagged by Ara @ The Bookish Agenda! She tagged me back in June and I totally missed it, but I saw it the other day and started! It’s not my most feminist offering but it’s what I got for these topics.

We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together
(
a book or series that you were pretty sure you were in love with, but now you want to break up)
It was pretty hard to choose between the Twilight series and the Fallen series here. In both cases, I was enjoying it for a while but fell out of love in the middle. For Twilight, it was until I realized she was really going to go for Edward instead of Jacob. Jacob wasn’t perfect but he wasn’t a stalker or mopey. I hate mopey. Fallen was good until they revealed the big secret and I almost didn’t even finish it, so I had to go with it.

There’s movie coming out this year for it, and I am holding out hope that they change that part.

Red
( a book with the color red on the cover)


I mean, it’s a red background that creates a shadow of Buzz Lightyear while he looks like he’s about to conduct a choir on a cover for a book about creating Pixar. How could I choose anything else?

 

The Best Day
( a book or series that makes you feel nostalgic )

I couldn’t find the exact copy that I have but, there are so many feels wrapped up in this one. Years before the Disney movie was released, my father had been reading me an old picture book version of this story. It had the original, sad ending and I can’t really explain why that was so beautiful to me at such a young age. It made me mad at Disney for changing it and kept me from watching it again and admitting that it turned out to be my favorite Disney movie after all.

Love Story
( a book with forbidden love)

I loved this book. It was beautiful and sad and hopeful. I was never sure what was going to happen but I had hopes for the lovers. This was a love forbidden by war and culture and brings to life events that aren’t quite imaginable when we hear about them in history classes.

 

I Knew You Were Trouble
a book with a bad character you can’t help but love )


I couldn’t help myself. I loved her touch of mean girl in the Marquess and then when I hit the reveal at the end, I just loved it all the more. This was such a great book. It gave me all those same feelings that I had watching Alice in Wonderland for the first time as a child and I just read it this year, as an adult, over 30.

 

Innocent
a book that someone ruined the ending for you )

I don’t actually have anything for this. Unless you count ruined by a movie, which I don’t. Some I had seen the movie of beforehand, but I went through my list and couldn’t come up with one. I think it has to do with the fact that I am a reader in a sea of non-readers in my physical life.

Everything Has Changed
a character from a book who goes through extensive character development )

Juliette goes from crazy to sane, even if she doesn’t make the best decisions. She doesn’t quite do it in one book, but still.

 

You Belong With Me
your most anticipated book release )

I couldn’t wait to get this and had it Recommended to my library for purchase as soon as it was available for it. I was on the waiting list before it came out. This and Stars Above that followed it. I was so glad I found the series at it’s end and only had to wait for this one. I don’t know what I would have done if I had to wait the years it takes for a whole series to come out. Okay, I would have waited, but it wouldn’t have been fun.

 

Forever and Always
your favorite book couple )

I don’t actually have this book yet, but I’ve read the Catwoman comics and this is on my Wish List. I don’t know if comics count for this tag, but there is just no other. I love Catwoman and Batman. They’re fairly unorthodox but they’re also uncompromising. It’s also odd that they don’t know each other’s “real” names but then again, they do, right? It’s part of the thing with those characters, their costumes are  real them and no one else understands them and they have this animal magnetism that doesn’t require possession but makes it all the easier somehow for them to completely own each other. Except for that whole knowing names on birth certificates part. And round it goes on what’s wrong with them and what’s right with them.

Come Back, Be Here
a book you don’t want to lend out for fear of missing it too much )


I know, it doesn’t seem like that sort of book. This is a series of case studies of Vietnam veterans and their combat stress done by a psychologist in Boston. I just don’t know what I’d do if I didn’t have it. I don’t reread it all the time, or anything, but it’s such a powerful way to see the old epic and it makes so much sense of the turmoil that I’ve seen those with PTSD go through. Reading this made it infinitely easier to talk to people who have been through combat. I’d had no idea how hurtful some words can be for them and the walls they hide behind to save their masculinity, not that their manhood is actually in question. They just have a hard time relating the wild thoughts in their heads to current situations and the author does a masterful job of connecting why things in combat in another country make it hard to go to Wal-Mart at home later in life.

I’ve even considered lending it to people who had family freshly coming home from combat or high-stress deployments but could never go through with it. I end up giving them the info to buy it with instead. What if I needed it again?

I’m awful at tagging people, so do this tag if want and comment the link! Or if you’ve done it already, add it in the comments too, I’ll check it out! 

3 thoughts on “Taylor Swift Book Tag

  1. Thanks for doing this tag! I haven’t read or heard of most of the books you mentioned, and you make me want to read them all! And btw, I love the new layout of your blog. It’s been a while since I’ve been here, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, it’s fine. I thought at first that you didn’t want to do it. It turns out you just didn’t see it before 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

