TTT: Top Ten Books I’m Dying to Read

Note: This post has been edited to include links to reviews that were later written about them at the bottom of the post.

Top Ten Tuesday is put on by the Broke and the Bookish every week, go check out their list and some of the others linked to it!

Today’s list is to rewind and do a list that we missed, and my choice is Books I’m Dying to Read which was originally done back in September 2010.

Here they are!

An Ember in the Ashes - Sabaa Tahir  A Gathering of Shadows - Victoria Schwab  In Order to Live: A North Korean Girl's Journey to Freedom - Yeonmi Park  Investigating Lois Lane: The Turbulent History of the Daily Planet's Ace Reporter - Tim Hanley  Pastrix: The Cranky, Beautiful Faith of a Sinner & Saint - Nadia Bolz-Weber  Men Explain Things to Me - Rebecca Solnit  Asking for It: Slut-shaming, Victim-blaming, and How We Can Change America's Rape Culture - Kate Harding  Feminism is for Everybody: Passionate Politics - Bell Hooks  Stigma: How We Treat Outsiders - Gerhard Falk  Excluded: Making Feminist and Queer Movements More Inclusive - Julia Serano

Yeah, some of these would have been totally appropriate in last weeks Top Ten Books we’d buy right this second if someone handed you a fully loaded gift card. Okay, all of them. I’m suddenly not sure why I didn’t do that one…..

And most of these probably seem obvious, given the general content of this blog. You might even wonder how the hell a feminist with a book blog hasn’t read that whole last role of books, but I haven’t. And the two fiction books may not seem like they go with the others but between how beautiful the titles and covers are, I just need to know what’s in there.

I can’t wait to read these but they never seem available when I’ve finished a book or aren’t available at all at my library. One of these days I will have to buckled down and just buy them. Except for In Order to Live which I totally just found on Scribd and downloaded and An  Ember in the Ashes that I have been on hold FOREVER for at the library but only have one person left ahead of me to get. Oh and expect to see some of these on the 23rd when we list Top Ten Books That Have Been On Your Shelf (Or TBR) From Before You Started Blogging That You STILL Haven’t Read Yet.

Now go check out the rewinds that people have chosen to do!

Later reviews:

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

 

10 thoughts on “TTT: Top Ten Books I’m Dying to Read

  1. Oooh In Order to Live is on Scribd? Must put in my library there! Also, I found Excluded a bit basic but still good. Apparently Whipping Girl is a bit better, but haven’t read it yet. And the Solnit is on my list to! Hope you get to read these books soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read Whipping Girl and found it very interesting. I hadn’t looked at things that way but then it made sense. I’ve had Solnit on my list for an embarrassing long time. I really need to get to it soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

