Femme Friday: WIT Month 2016

Good Evening!

I do enjoy Femme Friday’s. Just as a reminder, this is a weekly meme that was started by Vicky at Books and Strips so be sure to stop by her blog and check her posts too!

Do you remember back in June when I talked about women’s books getting translated into English? Well, here’s the link if you don’t. In that post, I also reference a resource for international literature from the University of Rochester called Three Percent, named such because only 3% of books in the US are translated from other languages. As if this wasn’t bad enough, translation of women’s books into English for US audiences is rather disproportionate, as is everything else, right? This difference is the focus of today’s post!

Back in 2014, Biblio began Women In Translation Month and guess what? It’s August! So, here we are in the third year of WIT Month. Biblio actually has a whole plan and plenty of reviews to post this month, I encourage you to check out that blog.

This begs the question, then, what should I do for WIT Month?

I have just gotten a hold of several audiobooks and was lamenting that I had already packed much of my month’s reading when I realized that I had been reading a woman in translation for about a week already! I’m reading About the Night by Anat Talshir, and translated by Evan Fallenberg. I still have all those audiobooks, but I’m making plans on some other women in translation in printed versions for the rest of the month. Okay, Kindle, but you know what I mean. Maybe I’ll power through the audiobooks fast enough to get at least one of those in too. We’ll see.

I’ll post a TBR list of Women in Translation next week, but I went ahead and created a Women in Translation shelf, but it’s tragically empty. It turns out that the only other book by a woman in translation was The Second Sex.

Will you be reading women in translation this month? 

*Note: I totally acknowledge that the Biblio focus is the sad state of women in translation in the US. This is by no means a perfect system. I don’t know what the state of WIT is in all countries, but I can at least attempt to improve upon my own. For those from other countries or reading in other languages, leave a comment about WIT where you’re from and let us all know!

Leave a Reply

