TTT: Books Set Outside the US

Ten Books Set Outside The US (I don’t know about you but sooo much of what I read is set in the US and I love finding new recs of stuff set outside of it!)

So, I had to add a few more restrictions to my list because I don’t think that a story about an American in outerspace really counts if they are otherwise surrounded by Americans, you know what I mean? I pretty much just didn’t count the entire Ender and Ender’s Shadow series. But, only one character in the Lunar Chronicles is American and they never set foot in the US, so I counted those.

Also, I usually try to keep it to female authors and have some diversity, but these are just my favorites in the topic. I don’t read a lot of men these days, but these really made an impression especially when considering their locations.

Anyway, here’s my list:

1-4.

The Lunar Chronicles Boxed Set: Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, Fairest, Winter - Marissa Meyer  The Lunar Chronicles Boxed Set: Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, Fairest, Winter – Marissa Meyer

Yep. I’m not counting Fairest, even though it was wonderful, not just because it’s in outerspace, but it’s not as substantial a book (it’s a novella) and I don’t think it outdoes the other books that I wanted to include on the list. But I do love it, it is awesome and anyone who reads the series should check it out.

Cinder takes place in China, Scarlett is in France, Cress starts out in space but predominently takes place Africa with a few scenes in China, and Winter is also mostly in space. I kept Winter though because of the way it deals with Earthen characters and the way the plot is important to what happens on Earth. (my review of 1, 2, 3, 4)

5.

Euphoria - Lily KingEuphoria – Lily King

This one take place in Australia and is about some English archaeologists exploring indigenous tribes alone a river. It’s a beautiful story and is a great exploration into how badly outsiders have messed up these tribes (and other civilizations) back before we realized that understanding another culture was better than pillaging from them.

(my review)

6.

The Girl on the Train: A Novel - Paula HawkinsThe Girl on the Train: A Novel – Paula Hawkins

This book got quite a bit of hype and I totally understand why. I really enjoyed it. It takes place in England, but I believe that the movie that is set to come out brings it over to the US. Still, a great book that takes place outside the US.

(my review)

7.

Persuasion - Jane Austen  Persuasion – Jane Austen

This is my favorite of the Jane Austen novels. I love Pride and Prejudice but this one is my fave. I feel like this one could still happen fairly easily, which makes it a little more fun for me. I also sympathized with Anne more than most characters I’ve come across.

 

8.

Crime and Punishment - Fyodor Dostoyevsky,Alex Jennings,David McDuff  Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky,Alex Jennings,David McDuff

I read this for a literature class and it was amazing. I always thought it would be one of those boring school reads, but it was actually really exciting. It takes place in Russia and really lets you feel the destitution of its characters. The protagonist is male and written well, but I had been surprised by how well the female characters had been written and the sympathy given to their circumstances. The author really seemed to understand them in a very George R.R. Martin kind of way, if you know what I mean.

9.

Florence of Arabia - Christopher Buckley  Florence of Arabia – Christopher Buckley

Seriously, this is hilarious book. I know it’s a satire, but it was great. It focuses on the women of the Middle East but has an American protagonist. She travels to the Middle East to help “liberate” the women there. I don’t want to spoil anything, but don’t let the attempt at liberation make you think this is one of those books that make us all look like great white saviors. (my review)

10.

All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel - Anthony Doerr, Zach Appelman,Simon & Schuster Audio  All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel – Anthony Doerr, Zach Appelman,Simon & Schuster Audio

Set in WWII France and Germany, I loved everything about this one. The characters were sympathetic and realistic. The circumstances and events were realistic, even though I didn’t want them to be by the end.

(my review)

 

Those are my top ten book set outside the US! Check out the Broke and Bookish for their top ten, along with links to everyone else participating in this weekly meme!

12 thoughts on “TTT: Books Set Outside the US

  1. I don’t know why Persuasion, or really any of Jane Austen’s works didn’t come to mind when trying to think of books for this week! Great list 🙂

    I haven’t read any of these, but there are a couple on my wishlist! Great list 🙂

    My TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I had to go through my read shelf and pick out all the books outside the US on a new shelf to get a good frame of reference. It was shamefully difficult, considering my overall subject matter.

      Like

Leave a Reply

