Femme Friday: Before the Book Gets to Me Part 4 – Illustrators

For me, illustration was never one of the obvious elements of putting a book together. Not all books have illustrations, and it had been a long time since I had read a book that needed more than cover art. And then…. yep, I had a baby. And then I started this blog. And now, there are plenty of books for him or the blog that I read that have illustrations. I just finished Fairyland yesterday and it had an illustration at the beginning of every chapter. We’re even reading an illustrated copy of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone to my son.

So what’s the story on female illustrators?

Huffington ran an article last year where they had a conversation with some female illustrators about sexism and feminism in relation to something that happened with Newsweek. There is also a blog over on BlogSpot exclusively dedicated to them: Female Illustrators and a private Facebook group called Humorless Mutts.

Of course, Ranker has a list of Famous Female Illustrators. There are also women on the Famous Illustrators list, so some have been recognized even among the men. Check out their lists and some of the women on it!

Okay, okay, check out the men too, there are some interesting ones listed, but this is Femme Friday, so let’s put some emphasis on the ladies!


I don’t know about you, but with a five years old in my home, I have a tendency to be immersed in picture books and there are some lovely ladies out there who write and illustrate their stories. My personal favorite is Nancy Tillman, who wrote On the Night You Were Born. I used that book for my Read Harder task 4, Read a Book Out Loud to Someone Else.

One thought on “Femme Friday: Before the Book Gets to Me Part 4 – Illustrators

Leave a Reply

