Top Ten Books I Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings on Goodreads

Top Ten Books We Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings On Goodreads (we’ve done underrated books a bunch of times in the past 6 years but thanks to Lenore at Celebrity Readers for suggesting this topic as a new way to talk about underrated books especially when underrated is subjective.

I learned doing this top ten Tuesday that I have an affinity for underrated books, particularly of the non-fiction variety. About a quarter of the books in my read list have under 2000 ratings, as does about half of my to-read list. I know I’ve mentioned most of these before, but they some are favorites!

  1. Women of the Wall: Claiming Sacred Ground at Judaism’s Holy Site – Phyllis Chesler (my review)
  2. Fragments Of Gender – Lisa Lees (my review)
  3. Gender Oppression: A bloke’s perspective on the struggle for gender equality – Allan S. J. McLeod (my review)
  4. Innovating Women: The Changing Face of Technology – Vivek Wadhwa,Farai Chideya (my review)
  5. The Abramson Effect – Debora L. Spar (my review)
  6. All the Rebel Women: The rise of the fourth wave of feminism (Guardian Shorts) – Kira Cochrane (my review)
  7. Love Is an Orientation: Elevating the Conversation with the Gay Community – Andrew Marin (my review)
  8. At the Dark End of the Street: Black Women, Rape, and Resistance–A New History of the Civil Rights Movement from Rosa Parks to the Rise of Black Power – Danielle L. McGuire (my review)
  9. Mighty Be Our Powers: How Sisterhood, Prayer, and Sex Changed a Nation at War – Leymah Gbowee (my review)
  10. Unspeakable Things: Sex, Lies and Revolution – Laurie Penny (my review)

 

 

Bonus: Underrated Comics

  1. Monstress #1 – An all-new ONGOING SERIES!,Image Comic 2nd Printing,Sana Takeda,Marjorie M. Liu
  2. Silk Vol. 1: Now and Then – Marvel Comics
  3. Womanthology: Space – Alison E. Ross,Jody Houser,Jennifer Deguzman,Joelle Sellner,Sandy Carpenter,Lois Vanbaarle,Kathryn Lano,Maarta Laiho,Jean Kang,Anna Bowie,Bonnie Tanja,Maja K.,Ellise Heiskell,Blair Butler,Rachel Edidin,Jessica Hickman,Allison Pang,Sophia Foster-Dimino,Chr
  4. Spider-Gwen Vol. 1: Most Wanted? – Marvel Comics
  5. S.H.I.E.L.D. 50th Anniversary Editions – yes, all five. Each issues covers the story of a different agent and they are Nick Fury, Peggy Carter, Qauke, Mockingbird, and the Cavalry. So good!

Check out other Top Ten Tuesday entries at The Broke and the Bookish! Check out their TTT for this week here!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

