The Happenings – June

June has been a busy month and a good one. I do love being busy, not so much that I don’t feel like I have time for myself, but enough that the days pass and boredom never quite sets in. Of course, for me, busy can include long periods of down time if I have stuff to read….


What I’m Reading

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making - Ana Juan,Catherynne M. Valente

 

This is one of my Read Harder books, it’s my pick for task five, read a middle grade novel. I’m only a few chapters in, but the style is just beautiful. It’s been delightfully unexpected so far, so I’m looking forward to the rest.

The Pearl That Broke Its Shell - Nadia Hashimi,Gin Hammond

 

This is the first fiction I’ve read that is set in the Middle East. I should use it for my Read Harder task 13 but I already decided on A Season of Martyrs. It does count for the Year of Reading Women of Color Challenge. This one was waiting in one of my wish lists. Fortunately, I feel like all of my non-fiction prepared me well enough to not get culture shock too bad. I’ve been enjoying it.

A Woman in the House (and Senate): How Women Came to the United States Congress, Broke Down Barriers, and Changed the Country - Ilene Cooper

 

I haven’t actually started this one yet, but it’s shorter than I expected and not possible to read on my phone because of the formatting, which is a little annoying.

Brown Girl Dreaming - Jacqueline Woodson

 

I’ve been reading  through this gorgeous book of poetry for a little while now. I’m taking my time with it, only reading a few poems a day. I can’t get over how Woodson’s style just puts me in her “shoes” and makes that time come alive. I’ve never read anything that felt like this about the Civil Rights Movement before. I’m just blown away every time I open  the book.


Read This Month

Fiction:

Comics:

Non-fiction:

 


Bible Project

I got through all of First Samuel but didn’t quite get into Second Samuel yet. We met five more amazing women in this book that I had no idea existed. They do some pretty interesting things. Bible posts this month are: Making a KingdomJealousy and Paranoia; and  Cat and mouse games, plus the Reflections post that wraps the whole thing up. I have started reading Second Samuel, but didn’t get far enough into it to make a first post worth putting up just yet. I’ll get it out next week, though.

I still feel a little behind on this, but like I’ve caught my breath and figured out my pace, which is just what I needed. It’ll probably take about six years to finish the whole project, but I look forward to it. It’s definitely been an education in my own religious text and I’m finding that it truly is best to read it for myself and get a good picture view rather than just go along with sermons that break down pieces that don’t tell the whole story. Obviously, the book is far too big to cover on a single Sunday morning, but I don’t know anyone who preaches it in order and few that ever have which just lent to my own confusion. Maybe others have had a different experience, but that was mine.


Femme Fridays

I started a series about all the women involved in getting a book from the author to the reader.

The naming scheme may have not been so consistent but there is still more to this series. I want to get into illustrators next.


Reading Challenges

Read Harder:

  • The Tale of Yin by Joyce Chng (Task 16: the first book in a series by a person of color)
  • Uprising: A New Age is Dawning for Every Mother’s Daughter by Sally Armstrong (Task 21: a book about politics in your country or another)

I only have four books left to finish this challenge, and I’m reading one of them now. It’s The Girl Who Circumnavitage Fairyland in Ship of Her Own Making. 

Reading Women of Color:

  • The Tale of Yin by Joyce Chng
  • Your Fatwa Does Not Apply Here: Untold Stories from the Fight Against Fundamentalism b
  • y Karima Bennoune
  • Monstress #3 by Marjorie M. Liu and Sana Takeda

My goal for this one was 20 books, which I know is a small amount, but I didn’t want to bite off more than I can chew on the first go-round. When I decided to include comics, I thought about upping it to 30, but my current progress doesn’t give me hope. When I’m done with Read Harder, I think I’ll take another look at the books I have available to complete this one with and make a better call. As it is, I’m only “tracking” on account of  the comics.  Two of my current reads are good for this challenge too. They are Brown Girl Dreaming and The Pearl That Broke Its Shell. 

I want to see about doing all the states in the US or reading the world next year. I get  that it will probably take more than a year to do either of those, but it would still be fun to challenge myself that way. I’d have to work on a good list beforehand to see how feasible it is. But I want to.


Life and Feminism

I’ve been giving some thought to branching back out into other areas of feminism and other ways to store thought, like documentaries and news articles, but I’m not ready yet. I feel ready on days when I’ve caught up to the rest of my life, but it’s just the ambitious side of me trying to convince the rest of me that I have time for everything I want to do. The next day the laundry is full and it’s time to start the chores again. I can’t wait for the day when I can focus more of my energy on this and other feminist pursuits. For now, I do what I can and I’m getting a good background for when that day comes. At least that’s what I tell myself. (Disclaimer: the chores are well split in my household, but I’m still the main laundry doer. If you’re splitting chores with a spouse or significant other, the way that worked best for us was to split each type of chore. He irons, I fold. He loads the dishwasher, I unload.)

Books have always been my thing, though. I’ve loved to read for longer than I can remember. I’ve wanted to be a writer since just after that. I love doing a blog because it let’s me gush and express myself even when no one wants to listen. I can put it out there and someone can listen or not, but it’s not weighing down my heart anymore.

Anyway, maybe I’ll do it in the future or go back to writing my old blog that covered all of that. That one had been too much after about a year, but the world of feminism is so exciting right now. There’s so much going on all the time. I don’t know. It’s still made me look at how I contribute to the greater cause, and my goal is to donate. If you’ve thought about it or are thinking about it and want to donate someplace that contributes to the improvement of the lives of women, check out my Bigger Than Books tab in the menu. There are a bunch of foundations and such that are referenced in books I’ve read  that do just  that, and more.

 

Leave a Reply

