Suggested Reading for New Intersectional Feminists

After spending some time with a fellow feminist friend of mine, I realized that I needed to put together a beginners list. Okay, she asked for one and I wanted it to share it with everyone. This is not a comprehensive list, but it’s as intersectional as I can provide. There is a serious lack of a Latina perspective and I recognize that. I’ve looked, unsuccessfully, for books on Latin women to incorporate into my reading. If you have a suggestions, I will happily look at it. The list is also composed of books I’ve actually read, so that’s unfortunately limiting as well, for now. Hopefully, the list will be updated yearly, but I dare not count on the future just yet.

Note: Links go to reviews/recommendations I’ve posted. I created a shelf for these books on booklikes and Goodreads to help readers find the books.

Let’s start with a little herstory on activism, for ourselves or otherwise:

Now, in order to better understand the research we are presented with:

Delusions of Gender: How Our Minds, Society and Neurosexism Create Difference by Cordelia Fine

Religion and feminism are not mutually exclusive, really:

Women’s rights are human rights:

There is still much to do in the world of business:

I know there’s this whole thing about feminism and men’s issues and whatever. We cannot expect the amount of change we want in the direction we want without addressing some things that plague them too, even if we wanted to:

We also cannot expect changes at work without changes at home:

Paving the way forward:

For the courage to keep speaking up and bring brave, even though it’s horribly uncomfortable for me, I turn to Dr. Brene Brown. Probably anything she’s written, but these are the books of hers that I’ve read:

Do you know any good books for new feminists to read? Okay, or old feminists who haven’t caught up yet like me.

If you’re interested in any of these books, check out my shelves in the Menu. You will be transferred to BookLikes, which has places to purchase the books, but don’t forget your local libraries!

One thought on “Suggested Reading for New Intersectional Feminists

Leave a Reply

