Discussion Post: Exploring Diversity In What India Reads (Or Doesn’t Read)

This is a great post about diversity in Indian reading. Everything about it applies equally to American reading, from the way different states perceive each other to the need to overcoming discomfort when reading about another’s thoughts on your own group.
Diversity is a practice and one that we could all benefit from, it was great to see the thought shared and expounded upon from another point of view. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this subject!

thereadingdesk

This blog post has been on my mind ever since I participated in the Diverse Books Tag, initiated by Naz. His discussion about diversity in what we read was an eye-opener because even though I read a variety of books, I wasn’t looking at them through the lens of diversity. It prompted me to look deeper into diversity in what India reads (or doesn’t seem to read enough of), and what I read by Indian authors. I realized that I was not reading very diversely when it comes to Indian literature. There were too many people that were not represented enough in what I had been reading. This blog post is an outcome of my search for these  representations.

Diversity in what we read is not a popular conversation in India yet. A quick look through Flipkart and Amazon.in (where India buys its books online) reveals that the bestsellers in…

View original post 1,504 more words

Leave a Reply

