The Happenings – May

It’s been a crazy month, not all good or bad, just crazy. A little more hectic than I wanted it to be.


What I’m Reading:

The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You're Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are - Brené Brown

I’m a HUGE Brene Brown fan. I haven’t read all of her books, but I loved Daring Greatly and her TEDtalks. I’ve been looking forward to reading this one for a little while now.

As a recovering perfectionist, I look forward to diving deeper into the reasons why imperfection is a gift and it’s side effects can be too. It’s been hard to unlearn that I need to be perfect and I hope to help others recover from it one day too. I hope this proves helpful in that endeavor, Daring Greatly certainly did.

Like visiting old friends, coming back to a series I love is comfortinStars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection - Marissa Meyer,-Macmillan Audio-,Rebecca Solerg. This books is actually a collection of short stories, most of which are background for the main characters of rest of the The Lunar Chronicles. There are two new stories, The Little Andriod and Something Old, Something New. The first one is entirely new but set in that world and based on the The Little Mermaid. The second one brings us back to Cinder and her friends two years after the end of the Winter.

My copy also has a bonus! There’s a teaser, 30 minutes of Heartless! It’s a new standalone novel by the same author focusing on the back story for the Alice in Wonderland’s Queen of Hearts.


Read this month:

Fiction – All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony DoerrHow to Be Single by Liz TuccilloGirl in Translation by Jean KwokFangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Comics – Lumberjanes #1 and #2 by Brooke Allen, Grace Ellis, and Noelle StevensonAnya’s Ghost by Vera BrosgolMonstress by Marjorie M. Liu and Sana Takeda

Nonfiction – The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories by Marina KeeganThe Argonauts by Maggie NelsonGirls Think of Everything by Catherine ThimmeshYour Fatwa Does Not Apply Here: Untold Stories from the Fight Against Fundamentalism by Karima Bennoune


Bible Project

Finished Judges and Ruth and began First Samuel!

To be fair, Ruth is a VERY short book and Judges isn’t exactly long either. It’s nice to feel like I’m catching up here, but I still dread Psalms and Proverbs. It feels tedious to read and try to get through the Bible this way, but it’s important to me to have read it and to understand it in the full context. Since I started this, I get so much more annoyed when I see people pull out single verses to quote at others. I see some and I instantly think to myself “that’s not even what that meant”. Maybe sometimes it is, but all the times I see things about God saying He is with “you”, He’s actually talking to a prophet or judge or Moses or something. Verses need to stay in the context to mean anything, and I really feel like we’ve moved away from that.


Femme Fridays – Jewish American Heritage Observance and Comic Haul

 


Challenges

Read Harder (total of 17 books read out of 24)

  • Girls Think of Everything by Catherine Thimmesh – nonfiction book about science
  • How to Be Single by Liz Tucillo – book adapted to a movie, discussion post TBD when I’ve seen the movie
  • The Opposite of Loneliness: Essay and Stories by Marine Keegan – book of essays

Reading Women of Color (recounting so that the Shatter Me series is one book, total is 6)

  • Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok
  • Your Fatwa Does Not Apply Here by Karmina Bennoune

 


Life and Feminism

Read the Our Shared Shelf book for this month! I had wanted to read it anyway and it was available, so why not? It was The Argonauts and is linked above with my recommendation for it. It was a great book and written in an unusual style. If you want to see what OSS was saying about it, click here. Next month is The Complete Persepolis!

I had to let a few things go this month. I was trying too hard to keep track of too many things in life and posting five days a week took a toll. I was also behind on my reading and it was making me irritable. I had to take a step back and cut some things. Obviously this blog wasn’t one of them this time. I just missed a few posts and it’s not a big deal. That’s what I keep reminding myself. I’m not obsessed with weight or a perpetual dieter but I had gained five pounds stress eating in April and hoped to get a grip on it this month, but it wasn’t to be. Sometimes it’s harder to be a proactive adult than others. I had to keep the things that brought me peace. I kept reading, listening to books, doing yoga and concentrated my efforts on being more present for my son. He’s five and it can be hard sometimes to pay attention to everything he says when I’m worried about nine thousand other things that don’t actually matter to anyone else. I had to let those things turn into static and concentrate on him. It’s not a chore, but it’s hard to do when I’m feeling overtaxed and crazy. Even work decided to flare up this month, with a project finally coming to fruition that I didn’t think was ever going to happen, but of course it meant more stress and heart ache. Hopefully things get better in June.

In the mean time, I’m going to remind myself that no matter how much I love blogging, it is a hobby and deadlines that I make for myself really only matter to me. I appreciate my readers, but I know writing something worth reading is better than hitting a deadline. I know everyone has busy lives and plans fall through. I have this nasty habit of setting things up for myself to be an every week or every month and it’s not necessary. I have to force myself to cut down sometimes. It’s about the books and the fun of reading and what’s interesting. I love doing this blog, but I have to set a realistic pace for myself in doing it.

I hope to see you all next month!

 

Leave a Reply

