Top Ten Tuesday – YA Characters You’d Like to Revisit in 10 Years

I’ll start off by admitting that I really only have 5. That being said, I’ve also added a bonus 5 characters whose authors made me very happy by having the series encompass their entire lives or at least a large enough portion, beginning as young adults and some even covering their deaths and future generations.

I’ll warn you now, this does have some spoilers due to the activities I’d like to catch up with them on.

YA characters I’d like to revisit in 10 years:

Cinder - Marissa Meyer

 

1. Cinder from Cinder – Marissa Meyer and the rest of the Lunar Chronicles series. I’d love to see if she really abolishes the monarchy on the moon and runs off and marries Kai. I think the new book of short stories, Stars Above, is supposed to cover this but I’m still waiting for my turn to read/listen to it.

 

Shatter Me Complete Collection: Shatter Me, Destroy Me, Unravel Me, Fracture Me, Ignite Me - Tahereh Mafi

2. Juliette from the Shatter Me Complete Collection – Tahereh Mafi. I’d like to see how she handles running things and restoring order. It’s a bigger job than destroying everything of someone else’s. Can she do it?

 

 

 

Shadows in Flight - Orson Scott Card3. Carlotta Delphiki from Shadows in Flight – Orson Scott Card. This is a continuation of The Ender’s Shadow Series that featured her parents as the main characters. Not sure how this one will be aligned, but I believe it starts the end of the whole “world” that Card’s built between Ender’s Shadow, the Ender’s Game series, and the Formic Wars series. More should follow, and it seems to be Card’s habit to have a series show the whole life, so we’ll see.

 

Finishing School Series (4 Book Series) - Gail Carriger 4. Sophronia and all her compatriots from the Finishing School Series – Gail Carriger. I know the series ends with a small summary of their futures, but I wanted more. Not necessarily from all the teachers, though they were interesting, but what Sophronia, Dimity, Agatha, Sidheag (Lady Kingair), Monique and Soap are up to. Okay, I’d also like to see if Preshea really kills off her husbands and how long Vieve passes for male and what happens if or when she’s caught. I kept thinking the perfect person for her to marry was Sophronia, she could keep her secret and they could both have the independence they need. Like maybe a reunion short story or something. I know, it’s asking a lot to expect writers to do that, but  I get stuck on characters.

The Beautiful Creatures Complete Collection (Beautiful Creatures Series #1-4) - Kami Garcia,Margaret Stohl 5. Ridley Duchannes from The Beautiful Creatures Complete Collection – Kami Garcia,Margaret Stohl. She’s not the main character, but she’s fun to read about and the only one that left me with a feeling like more fun was down the road. Despite the good closure provided by the final book, I still felt like she couldn’t live without a little adventure. Her story wasn’t completely over yet. Even with a happily ever after, there’d be interesting things to happen to this girl and I’d like to know what they might be.


Now, the bonus 5 characters I enjoyed reading from young adults (though not always in the entirety of their books) to adults and sometimes to the end of their lives.

  1. Rowan from The Rowan – Anne McCaffrey. This series actually carries on through more than one generation, so we see Rowan grow up, get married, have kids, become a grandmother.
  2. Damia, who is Rowan’s daughter, from Damia – Anne McCaffrey. We also get to see down to her offspring.
  3. Petra from Ender’s Shadow series mentioned above. Petra is Carlotta’s mother and her story begins in Ender’s Game and carries through the entire Ender’s Shadow series. I love her character!
  4. Valentine from the Ender’s Game series also. She may not be one of my favorite characters or the best of OSC’s females, but I loved the way the vision of her character progressed, if that makes sense. She never quite hits three-dimensional for me but it was interesting to see the way her relationship with Ender developed throughout his life and her reaction to the cloning type event that happens in the third book.
  5. Anne from  Persuasion – Jane Austen. It’s not her entire life, but has her young adult time as backstory/flashbacks and it’s interesting. The story focuses on the consequences of those young adult decisions and I love the way it progresses. It felt to me like the second book in one of the series mentioned above. As with all of Austen’s characters, they were interesting enough to want to know how life progresses but I get that it may not be book worthy, particularly for the time. I’m just one of those people that wonders and hopes for fictional characters. Okay, I realize there’s some crazy in there.

Top Ten Tuesday is a feature put on by Broke and the Bookish, check out their posting and the rest of the participants on the link!

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday – YA Characters You’d Like to Revisit in 10 Years

Leave a Reply

