Starting the Read Harder Challenge!

Okay, so I decided to do the Read Harder Challenge for 2016, the tasks are found here. Fortunately for me, some of them have already been fulfilled by the reading I’ve done in the last two months. I’m going to try to do this with all female and/or protagonists.

The books that I’ve already read and choose to count (for now):

  1. A dystopian or post-apocalyptic novel: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. I know this could overlap and count for other sections too, I’m fitting it here for now. Maybe the other sections will be easier to find books for and it’ll get shifted around.
  2. A biography – Notorious RBG by Irin Carmon and Shana Knizhnik
  3. A book by or about a person that identifies as trangender – Whipping Girl by Julia Serano. 
  4. A book of historical fiction set before 1900 – The Finishing School series. I’ve already read and reviewed Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger and plan to finish the series.
  5. A nonfiction book about feminism or dealing with feminist themes – Reimagining Equality: Stories of Gender, Race, and Finding Home by Anita Hill. I mean, it’s kinda my thing.
  6. A book out loud to someone else – I have a five year old who still gets bedtime stories, so series, like every night almost. But I think I’ll use On the Night You Were Born by Nancy Tillman

This is my plan for the other tasks:

  1. A horror book – The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon
  2. A nonfiction book about science – Girls Think of Everything: Stories of Ingenious Inventions by Women by Catherine Thimmesh and Melissa Sweet
  3. A Collection of essays – The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories by Marina Keegan
  4. Middle Grade book – When Mischief Comes to Town by Katrina Nannestad or maybe The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente
  5. Book originally published in the decade you were born – No Time for Tears by Cynthia Freeman (I’m an 80’s baby)
  6. Audiobook that has won an Audie Award – Heartburn by Nora Ephron
  7. A book over 500 pages – okay, not sure on this one yet
  8. A book under 100 pages – The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
  9. A book set in the Middle East – A Season for Martyrs by Bina Shah
  10. A book that is by an author from Southeast Asia – First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers by Loung Ung
  11. The first book in series by a person of color – The Tale of Yin by Joyce Chng
  12. A non-superhero comic that debuted in the last three years – Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol
  13. A book that was adapted into a movie, then watch the movie. Debate which is better – How to Be Single  by Liz Tuccillo (okay, it’s not a movie yet, but it will be soon!)
  14. A book about religion – I Suffer Not a Woman: Rethinking I Timothy 2:11 in Light of Ancient Evidence by Richard Clark Kroeger and Catherine Clark Kroeger
  15. A book about politics, in your country or another – When Women Win: EMILY’s List and the Rise of Women in American Politics by Ellen Malcolm and Craig Unger
  16. A food memoir – The Tao of Martha: My Year of LIVING; Or, Why I’m Never Getting All That Glitter Off of the Dog by Jen Lancaster
  17. A play – The Rover by Aphra Behn
  18. A book with a main character that has a mental illness – Dora: A Headcase by Lidia Yuknavitch

Is anyone else doing the challenge? I know some have mentioned it in previous posts, thank you Vicky at Books and Strips for showing me this challenge!

4 thoughts on “Starting the Read Harder Challenge!

Leave a Reply

