Femme Friday – Interesting Female Characters

I know that the term “strong female character” has been kicked around enough to exhaust some of us. Personally, I have learned to appreciate every female character that is given any depth, whether she is perceived to be strong or not. It’s the depth that makes them interesting. I’m starting to be convinced that no one at all cares much for a female character that is only strong in a one-dimensional way. And while I do love one that is strong in general, there is so much more to any character than strength.

Don’t worry, I’m not about to launch into a diatribe about what strength is and how it pertains to female characters. I’ve seen enough of those to know that my two cents are not necessary. I will, on the other hand, talk about some female characters that I’ve found interesting, that I’ve loved every moment of time with their characters, and could stand to spend more time with.

  1. Scarlett O’Hara – Gone with the Wind
  2. Petra Arkanian – Ender’s Game
  3. Rowan – The Rowan
  4. Loren Smith – Recurring love interest in the Clive Cussler Dirk Pitt Adventures
  5. Juliette – Shatter Me

These characters are interesting for a variety of reasons. Scarlett is determined to accomplish whatever she deems necessary in her life and won’t be derailed by anything or anyone. Petra is a military genius who helped saved the human race and prevent world wide war. Rowan is a Prime Telepath that saves another planet. Loren is a congresswoman. Juliette is a revolutionary. Each also has a myriad of vulnerabilities and set backs. Juliette is the only recent addition to this list, the rest of these characters have been favorites for at least a decade. They were the kinds of characters that influenced my outlook on all others.

What female characters have you found most interesting?

7 thoughts on “Femme Friday – Interesting Female Characters

  1. Always the intelligent ones. I always find them interesting. Although I do love Scarlett my favourite is Hermione and Mcgonagall. On TV it’s Felicity Smoke and the girl from Revenge. Love them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love all of those too! I didn’t read any of the Harry Potter’s though, just watched the movies so I didn’t consider them for the list. As far as tv, I love Felicity too and both Emily and Victoria are amazing on Revenge. My favorite woman on tv is Daenerys Targaryen. I know she’s from books too but I can’t bring myself to read through those either. Too busy and too long for now.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “Personally, I have learned to appreciate every female character that is given any depth, whether she is perceived to be strong or not. It’s the depth that makes them interesting. I’m starting to be convinced that no one at all cares much for a female character that is only strong in a one-dimensional way” — BINGO! You hit the nail on the head!

    This is exactly how I feel. What makes a female character interesting is their rich inner life and a nuanced personality.

    Personally, I have a soft spot for girls who have been hurt by fate and circumstance but never lose their kindness. For me, these girls are the very definition of strength. I’m talking about characters like Sara Crewe from A Little Princess and Sansa Stark from GRRM’s A Song of Ice and Fire series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I do love Sansa too. All the women of GRRM are just amazing. He seems to actually understand that even in the most patriarchal of societies, women would have had inner lives worth reading about. That’s one of the reasons I put The Red Tent on my To-Read list. I haven’t heard of the Little Princess but I’m going to have to look it up now.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve heard conflicting things about The Red Tent, which was why I hesitated about taking the plunge and reading it.

        Many people feel like Sara Crewe from A Little Princess is too perfect to be real, but I adore her. I find her enduring kindness and dignity in the face of hardship very admirable.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

