The Happenings

Okay, I haven’t quite managed to be a good blogger along with all the rest of the things I try to do these days, but things are looking up. I’ve gotten some headway on some personal projects and the others haven’t slipped through my fingers just yet.

What I’m Reading:

I started to read this last week and am enjoying it so far. I had taken a short hiatus on non-fiction, mostly because way too many of my fiction books dropped in my queue all at once. It was mostly the Shatter Me series. It took over my life even while I was reading other things. Anyway, I look forward to finishing this one. It’s interesting to get a history on what finally brought us this life-changing pill.

Curtsies and Conspiracy is the second book in the Finishing School series by Gail Carriger. I finished the first one a week or so ago and loved it. This series is the first of my steampunk books, but they certainly won’t be the last. The author has written a few other series in the same world, which is something I really enjoy when the world is good. It’s been a great book so far, even better than the first because of a few extra characters that have added some more fun to it.

Here are the other books I’ve finished since my last Happenings post –

Fiction: The StruggleThe Fury, and Dark Reunion of The Vampire Diaries, The Shatter Me series, Etiquette and Espionage of the Finishing School series.

Non-fiction: Reimagining Equality: Stories of Gender, Race, and Finding Home

My Bible Project:

I’m trying to catch up to where I should be in my Bible reading, which would have put me finishing Joshua this month. I was so far behind though, that finishing Numbers has to do. Maybe I’ll catch up or at least stop falling behind one day.

Life and Feminism:

So I’ve gotten a little deeper into the book blogosphere and was inspired by Books and Strips to do Femme Fridays. I gotta tell you, it’s been a little terrifying and a lot fun to get into it. The concern is always if I’m highlighting or recommending great writers or great books or the right kinds of writers or books. I know it’s silly to worry about such things, but I can be worrier.

It also prompted me to do a Throw Back Thursday once a month to talk about an older feminist book or issue and maybe an iconic character here and there. I’m sure you noticed that the Wednesday evening, Quote of the Week has resumed. I took a small vacation from it over the Christmas season because I was with family. It was a bit of an overall blogging holiday, but I came back and now it’s back too. I really loved that segment because it was nice to share a little of what I was loving about the books I was reading.

Leave a Reply

