Why insta-love needs to stop appearing in YA

Here’s a great post in why insta-love just needs to stop! I can’t agree more. Occasionally there are books where there’s a supernatural reason, like a curse, and I can get behind that, especially when they aren’t in love anymore when the curse breaks, but this is just done too much. I get so annoyed with it!

A Stranger's Guide To Novels

Hello everyone! So as you can see by the title I’m going to be talking about insta-love. Now even though loads of people talk about this common trope, I feel like this trope is still not talked seriously enough. My previous post was a review of An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir (you can check it out here) and I said there was insta-love. I still stick to that point. The main boy just looks at the main girl and- wait here is the line:

A heated, visceral shock flares through me at the clarity of her dark gold eyes. For a second I forget my name.

What. The. Devil. Was. That.

So many things are just wrong with that line, I closed the book in a anger for a minute and then had to push myself to carry on. Just why is my question. Why the…

View original post 561 more words

One thought on “Why insta-love needs to stop appearing in YA

Leave a Reply

